Skip to main content

Divinity Research Resources: Articles

ATLA Religion Database

Atla Religion Database is the main database for Religious, Theological, and Biblical Studies topics

Atla indexes:

  • journal articles
  • books
  • book chapters
  • conference proceedings
  • book reviews
  • dissertations. 

When selecting journal articles to use in your research, make sure you are selecting articles from scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals rather than popular magazines.  Indicators of a scholarly article can include:

  • author:usually professor or researcher
  • length:at least 10 pages, up to 25-30 pages
  • publisher:university, professional, or scholarly association press (Harvard, Brill, Society of Biblical Literature, etc...)
  • citations:arguments and quotations are properly cited
  • journal does not have advertisements (except for conferences, books/journals)
  • journal explains editorial requirements and their peer-review process

An example is this issue from The Journal of Religion.  The publisher, University of Chicago Press, includes links for "About" and "Contributors" which gives information on their editorial process and submission guidelines.  The first article in the issue, "The Case of Disappearing Discourse: Schleiemacher's Fourth Speech and the Field of Religious Studies," is 28 pages in length and includes 80 footnotes.  The author, Andrew Dole, is a professor at Amherst College.  All of these are good indicators that this would be an appropriate source to use if the content relates to your research topic. 

The majority of the Atla Religion Database is full-text, but you may need to use full-text options links to verify that ZSR has access to the book or article you have found.  If you have problems accessing a book or article, please don't hesitate to contact the Reference Desk!

 

Other Databases

While Atla Religion is the primary database for Religious, Theological, and Biblical Studies research, there are other databases that you will find helpful depending on your topic.

Religion Databases

JSTOR

New Testament Abstracts

Old Testament Abstracts

Project MUSE

ProQuest Religion

Historical Databases

America: History and Life- abstracts and citations for US and Canadian history, 1400 to present

Annee Philologique- citations concerning the classical world, 2000 BCE-800 CE

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index- citations covering women and gender studies, 450-1500

Historical Abstracts- abstracts and citations of world history from 1450 to present

ITER-Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance- abstracts and citations for Europe and the Middle East, 400-1700

Primary Source Databases

Bible in English

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts- full-text sermons, commentaries and diaries from Reformation and post-Reformation authors

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation- full-text catechisms, liturgical writings and devotional works

Loeb Classical Library-full-text of over 500 Greek and Latin authors, including the Church Fathers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers- full-text of The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Chicago Tribune

 

Need help? Chat with us