Research Guides: Divinity Research Resources: Websites

Websites for the Study of Religions

The following websites are examples of the types of online resources that may be useful as you research. Remember to consider websites carefully before using them in academic work. Make sure they are from a reliable source (archive, scholarly organization, university) and include scholarly content (historical documents, timelines, citations). For tips on evaluating websites, see: Evaluating Resources.

Art in the Christian Tradition
An image database from Vanderbilt University. Images in the collection are linked to appropriate passages in the Revised Common Lectionary, for use in worship services.
Assyrian Dictionary of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago
Download for free each of the 21 volumes of the recently completed Assyrian Dictionary.
ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
An image database relating to the topics of religious studies, archaeology, architecture, manuscripts, etc... Images contributed from the collections of Princeton, Emory, Yale, Harvard, and Boston Universities, among others.
Bible Odyssey
Sponsored by the Society of Biblical Literature, this site organizes the contributions of leading scholars on a variety of biblical studies topics.
Biblical Recorder Online Index
The official journal of the North Carolina Baptist State Convention, digitized from 1834 to present.
Biblical Studies Online
Collection of video lectures and presentations by scholars of biblical studies and religious history.
Black Theology Papers Project
Open-access scholarly journal sponsored by the Black Theology Unit of the American Academy of Religion, hosted by Columbia University.
Christian Church Timeline
An open-access timeline of church history through the mid-19th century.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Digitized versions of classic works of Christian devotion and scholarship. Most are in the public domain (in many cases published pre-1923).
Codex Sinaiticus
Digitized scan of the Codex Sinaiticus, including transcription and contextual information.
Critical Dictionary of Apocalyptic and Millenarian Movements
A new, open access, scholarly dictionary on apocalyptic and millenarian groups.
Database of Religious History
An open-access database of world religious traditions, hosted by the University of British Columbia.
Digital Library on American Slavery
Scholarly project from the University of North Carolina-Greensboro. A searchable database of personal information on slaves, slave holders, and free people of color in the 15 slave holding states, between 1775 and 1867.
Early Christian Writings
Early Christian texts, organized chronologically.
Early Jewish Writings
Collection of ancient Jewish writings, including biblical texts, pseudepigraphical texts, and the writings of Josephus.
Global Ethics Network
The library of the Global Ethics Network contains 1.5 million articles and documents related to applied ethics.
Hebraic Manuscripts-Library of Congress
An online digital repository of Jewish manuscripts from the 10th to 20th centuries, including haggadahs, poetry, medical texts, and legal documents.
Hymnary: A Comprehensive Index of Hymns and Hymnals
Illuminated Hebrew Manuscripts
From the collection of the New York Public Library, illuminated Hebrew manuscripts from the 13th-19th centuries.
International Newspaper Historical Archives
Links to a variety of digitized versions of newspapers.
International Standard Bible Encyclopedia
Introducing the New Testament
Companion website to the second edition of the textbook "Introducing the New Testament" by Mark Allan Powell. Includes videos, outlines, and study questions.
Jesuit Online Bibliography
A free, searchable collection of Jesuit Studies scholarship. A collaboration between the Archivum Romanum Societatis Iesu, the Jesuitica Project, and the Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies.
Journal of Contemporary Ministry
Started in 2015, this open access, peer reviewed journal from Australia looks at issues related to current ministry.
Journal of Religion and Popular Culture
Web-based, peer-reviewed journal published by the University of Toronto Press.
Katie Geneva Cannon Research Collection
Collection of resources by and about Katie Cannon, a founder of womanist theology. Hosted by Union Presbyterian Seminary.
Oremus Bible Browser
Can look up biblical verses or passages, as well as search for individual words across biblical texts. Uses both the NRSV and KJV texts.
Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E Church Archive
Archives of the African Methodist Episcopal Church and Payne Theological Seminary. Includes clergy biographies, church histories, and denominational publications.
Perseus Digital Library
Digital versions of thousands of classical texts, from Tufts University.
Princeton Theological Seminary Library
Project on Multifaith College and University Leadership
From NYU: "Project on Multifaith College and University Leadership is a three-part initiative devoted to educating and inspiring religious and spiritual leaders to utilize multifaith dialogue and service as a source for positive social change on college and university campuses."
Religion News Service
News site with international coverage of religious topics and ideas.
Resource Page for Biblical Studies (Torrey's)
An annotated list of websites dealing with ancient texts and the social world of the Ancient Near East.
Sefaria
"A Living Library of Jewish Texts." Full-text of Jewish texts (Tanakh, Mishnah, Talmud, etc..) in interlinear Hebrew and English.
Skirball Cultural Center for Adult Jewish Learning
Video programming on Jewish theology and cultural history.
The Streicker Cultural Center at Temple Emanu-El
Video programming on Jewish cultural history and traditions.
The Tertullian Project
Collection of Tertullian's writings, and commentary written on it by ancient and modern authors.
The Text this Week
"Lectionary, Scripture Study, Worship Links, and Resources" according to the liturgical calendar.
Timeline of Early Christian History
From the companion website to the National Geographic documentary on The Lost Gospel of Judas. Includes additional information on the text and it's environment.
Websites on Religion (formerly hosted by Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion)
An annotated list of websites dealing with topics in religious studies and theology.
Yale Journal of Music & Religion
A new scholarly open-access journal published by the Yale Institute of Sacred Music.