Search Tips
Depending on the garden you choose, there may or may not be a lot of information to be found by searching for the specific garden name. You may need to ask questions of the surrounding context of your location to fill in what is missing. Here are some examples of the types of questions you could investigate:
- what style is your garden/green space?
- romantic/natural or orderly/neoclassical, etc...
- does it retain the original style of its design, or has it been modified over the years?
- is your green space a neighborhood garden, or is it a large "state" space meant for events/tourists?
- what types of activities take place in the space?
- has it been the setting of major events?
- are there memorials or monuments in your space?
- who or what is being commemorated?
- what is the style of the memorial?
- who designed or created the memorial?
- where in the city is your space located?
- has the surrounding neighborhood changed over time? has this impacted the use or function of the space?
- has your space been depicted in art (films, paintings, photographs, novels, poetry) or inspired any music or literature?
Search terms:
In additon to the names of any designers/planners/honorees or historical events, these types of search terms may be useful:
- landscape architect*
- landscape design*
- urban/city plan*
- park/parc
- garden/jardin
- green space
- memoria*/commemorat*
Finding Books
The two best ways to find books at ZSR are to browse the stacks in certain call number areas, and to search the library catalog using keywords based on your topic.
1) Browse the following call number areas for books on gardens, sculpture, or French history. Use this location guide to see where these call numbers are located.
- DC: History of France
- DC700-790: Paris
- DC708: Guidebooks to Paris
- DC801 A-Z: French cities, alphabetical by city name
- DC700-790: Paris
- NA: Architecture
- NA1041-1053: Architecture in France
- NA1050: Architecture in Paris
- NB: Sculpture
- NB540-553.3: Sculpture in France
- SB: Plant culture
- SB 403-450.87: Flowers & flower culture (greenhouses, roof gardens)
- SB450.9-467.8: Gardens & gardening
- SB469-476.4: Landscape gardening & landscape architecture
- SB481-486: Parks & public reservations
2) Search the library catalog for book and ebooks using keywords based on your topic. Here is an example:
Use the advanced search screen when you have a more complex search, or when there are multiple search terms for what you are looking for. If you were looking for information on Impressionist painting in France, you could use the following terms:
impressionist AND painting AND france
OR
impression* AND paint* AND (france OR french)
With the first search you will get about 67 results. For the second search you will get about 330 results. If you shorten your search terms and add an "*" as well as combine variations, you will increase the number of results you get back. Rather than just searching for "painting," if you search for "paint*" you would also get "paint," "paints," "painter," "painters," "paintings" and "painted." In the last box, because "France" and "French" are variations and you want either term in your results, you can place an "OR" in between them, which indicates that either term is acceptable.
Finding Articles
Use the following resources to locate newpaper coverage, popular discussions, and scholarly research on topics relating to your projects.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full-text and citations for scholarly journals articles, magazines, exhibition reviews, and trade publications. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals. Topics covered include antiques, archaeology, art, art history, architecture, folk art, graphic arts, interior and landscape design, movies, and television. Also includes an image collection. Coverage: 1929-
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text and citations for scholarly journals articles, magazines, exhibition reviews, and trade publications, covering antiques, art, art history, architecture, interior and landscape design, and more. Also includes an image collection. Coverage: Details not available
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of architecture and architectural history, including design, historic preservation, urban planning, and landscape design. Coverage: 1930s-present
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Provides access to journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, and more. Good general-purpose database for researching most topics. Coverage: 1985-
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window A full-text database of archived issues of academic journals. Since JSTOR is a backfiles project, a typical coverage range is the beginning of a journal until three or five years ago. Supported in part by the Dail Endowment Fund. Coverage: Varies
_________________________________________________________
Historical Newspapers & Magazines
___________________________________________________________
Contemporary Newspapers & Magazines
- Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowSelect "advanced search" and then "news." Enter any search terms, then date range (if applicable), and then select "French" as the language. If you want to focus on a specific publication, you can enter the name in the next field.
- Le MondeCoverage begins in 2001.
- LiberationCoverage begins in 2018.
- Le ParisienCoverage begins in 2001.
- Le TempsCoverage from 1998-2015.
Related Primary Source Collections
The primary source collections listed below include documents related to travel writing, entertainment, fairs, and other events that may inform your projects.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new windowThese personal accounts describe the travel experiences, destinations and desires of nineteenth and twentieth century American women through diaries, correspondence, and more. Coverage: 1835-1976
- Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new windowMultiple manuscript sources in various languages detailing the journeys of famous travellers from Marco Polo to John Capgrave, and the stories of legendary figures such as Prester John and Sir John Mandeville, with translations, route maps and introductory essays.
- World’s Fairs This link opens in a new windowThis resource digitizes primary source material from hundreds of international fairs and expositions spanning 1829-2015. Coverage: 1851-2015
- Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture This link opens in a new windowThis collection charts the development of one of the world’s largest and most culturally significant industries. Material is sourced from international archives, including the archives of Thomas Cook, the world’s best known travel agency and a pioneer of tourism for the masses. Coverage: 1850-1980
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO This link opens in a new windowContains books, pamphlets and broadsides published in England or in English between 1701 and 1800. Includes many of the items indexed in the English Short Title Catalogue. Coverage: 1701-1800
- Early English Books Online - EEBO This link opens in a new windowFull text of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in England or in English between 1475 and 1700. Includes many of the items indexed in the English Short Title Catalogue. Corresponds to the Pollard and Redgrave, and Wing Short-Title Catalogues, as well as Thomason Tracts. Coverage: 1473-1700
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new windowThe Victorian Popular Culture portal is a resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. It contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, and shows how interconnected these worlds were. Coverage: 1779-1930
- Grand Tour This link opens in a new windowThese accounts, including manuscript, visual, and printed works from British people traveling abroad between c.1550-1850 provide insight into European influence on British society, daily life, and Europe's urban spaces. Coverage: 1550-1850
Map Sources
There are a number of sources for historical maps of Paris, both online and in books. Here are a few places for you to start:
- Old Maps of ParisA compliation of 25 digitized public domain maps of Paris, covering c.360 CE to 1937 CE.
- French Maps from the French National LibraryHistorical maps from the 16th to 20th centuries. From Gallica, the portal for the Biblotheque Nationale de France.
- Paris in the 19th CenturyA collection of 19th century maps of Paris from the University of Chicago Library.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionThousands of digitized map resources from the Rumsey Collection at Stanford University Library.
- Paris 18341834 map of Paris superimposed on a current map. From the Rumsey Collection.
- Paris Urbanism Agency (Apur) Historical MapsInteractive map of Paris using superimposed geodata.
- S'imaginer Paris et le Grand ParisOnline exhibition "Imagining Paris and Grand Paris Since 1967" created to celebrate 50 years of the Paris Urbanism Agency.
Atlas de Paris: Evolution d'un Paysage UrbainCall Number: DC707 C534 2007ISBN: 9782840964858Publication Date: 2007Paris and Environs: With Routes from London to Paris, Handbook for Travellers by
Call Number: DC708 B2 1898Publication Date: 1898Paris and Environs: With Routes from London to Paris, Handbook for Travellers by
Call Number: DC708.B2 1924Publication Date: 1924Les Parcs & Jardins de Paris: 400 Lieux de Detente et de Decouverte
Call Number: SB466 F82 P376 2001ISBN: 2840383772Publication Date: 2001
Paris: Buildings and Monuments: An Illustrated Guide with over 850 Drawings and Neighborhood Maps by Call Number: DC708 P7413 1999ISBN: 0810943557Publication Date: 1999
Balades dans Paris: de l'Antiquité au Moyen Age by Call Number: DC708 F76 2013ISBN: 9782737358111Publication Date: 2013
Atlas de Paris au Moyen Âge: Espace Urbain, Habitat, Société, Religion, Lieux de Pouvoir by Call Number: NA9198 P2 L67 2006ISBN: 9782840964025Publication Date: 2006
Atlas du Paris Haussmannien: La Ville en Héritage du Second Empire à Nos Jours by Call Number: NA1050 P55 2002ISBN: 9782840962045Publication Date: 2002
Other Visual Resources
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowProvides images for use in academic papers and presentations, covering a broad range of subjects beyond art history. Images have been contibuted by major museums, institutional archives, personal collections.
- Getty Open Content This link opens in a new windowHosted by the Getty Research Institute. Search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. This link initially limits your search to images available for free download under the Getty's Open Content Program. Coverage: Details not available
- EuropeanaPortal to European museum and cultural resource collections.
- GallicaPortal to the collections of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.
- Flickr Creative CommonsSearch for images with various Creative Commons licenses.