Starting your Research
As you begin researching your project, use Reference Resources to find background information on an:
- artist
- work of art
- location OR
- concept
These sources include bibliographies which list additional books and journal articles that would be useful for further research on the topic. Resources marked with "REF" are shelved in the Reference area on Wilson 4, the remainder are shelved in the main stacks at the indicated call number or are accessible online via the link provided.
Reference Resources: General
Oxford Art Online (The Grove Dictionary of Art) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 1884446000Publication Date: 2003Oxford Art Online is the most extensive art history reference source. In addition to biographies, historical information and definitions, Oxford Art Online also includes images and timelines. You might also see it refered to as The Grove Dictionary of Art.- Oxford Reference: Art & ArchitectureCall Number: onlineA collection of five art and architecture reference books, with short entries on artists, art terms, and art topics.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by Call Number: EBOOK and REF N33 O923 2001ISBN: 0198662033Publication Date: 2001
Benezit-Dictionnaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs by Call Number: REF N40 B47 1999ISBN: 2700030117Publication Date: 1999
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms by Call Number: EBOOK & N33 L75 2004ISBN: 1849721009Publication Date: 2004
Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists by Call Number: REF N6505 M59 2008ISBN: 9780195373219Publication Date: 2008
International Dictionary of Art and Artists by Call Number: EBOOK and N7425 I67 1990ISBN: 1558620001Publication Date: 1990"... arranged in two volumes. The first, Artists, lists in alphabetical order the most important artists ... the other volume, Art, discusses some 500 individual works of art"
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Call Number: REF N7560 E53 1998ISBN: 1579580092Publication Date: 1998
The Elements of Style: An Encyclopedia of Domestic Architectural Detail by Call Number: REF NA2850 E44 2012ISBN: 9781770850866Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World by Call Number: REF NA208 E53 1997ISBN: 0521564220Publication Date: 1997
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture by Call Number: REF NB198 E53 2004ISBN: 1579582486Publication Date: 2003
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780500204139Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Gardens: History and Design by Call Number: SB465 E63 2001 (Reynolds 1)ISBN: 1579581730Publication Date: 2001
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by Call Number: REF TR9 O94 2005ISBN: 0198662718Publication Date: 2005
Contemporary Photographers by Call Number: ebook & TR139 C66 1995ISBN: 1558621903Publication Date: 1995
Reference Resources: Time Periods & Movements
Art Through the CenturiesCall Number: multipleISBN: 9780892368594Publication Date: 2005-2008Produced by the J. Paul Getty Museum, each heavily illustrated volume focuses on European art of an individual century (14th-18th), or subject (gospel figures, food & feasting).
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s by Call Number: REF NX650 M9 R45 1993ISBN: 0195049985Publication Date: 1993"Organized into entries on mythological figures or themes, listings of artworks delineate the history of artistic interest in classical mythology as presented in the fine arts, music, dance, and literature of the past seven centuries."
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art by Call Number: EBOOK & N6370 Z57 2008ISBN: 9780810858008Publication Date: 2007
Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture by Call Number: EBOOK & N6415 B3 Z57 2010ISBN: 9780810861558Publication Date: 2010
Historical Dictionary of Romantic Art and Architecture by Call Number: REF N6465 R6 P35 2011ISBN: 9780810872226Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850 by Call Number: EBOOK and NX452.5 R64 E53 2004ISBN: 157958361XPublication Date: 2003
Historical Dictionary of Surrealism by Call Number: EBOOK and NX456.5 S8 A87 2010ISBN: 9780810858473Publication Date: 2010
A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes, 3rd Edition by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9780203828120Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by Call Number: REF TR9 H25 2008ISBN: 9780415972352Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture by Call Number: REF NA680 E495 2004ISBN: 1579582435Publication Date: 2003
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Design since 1900 by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 1849722617Publication Date: 2008Encyclopedia of American Folk Art by
Call Number: EBOOK & NK805 E6 2004ISBN: 9780415929868Publication Date: 2003
