As you are working on research for art-related courses, please let me know if I can help in any way!  Please feel free to email me and we can discuss your questions over email, or you can book a time on my calendar for a research session in-person or over Zoom.

I have added links here for online scholarly resources that that will assist you in your research: reference sources, scholarly books, scholarly articles, and images.  ZSR has access to thousands of ebooks and millions of online articles through our regular resources in the library catalog and databases such as Art Full Text and JSTOR.  We also have access to thousands of streaming films and online images if you need multimedia resources.  Get tips on finding and using these resources from the tabs above.  Additionally, in the Finding Images & Websites tab, you will find links to many museum collections and online exhibitions.

And last, but not least, remember to cite your sources!  The Chicago Manual of Style can help you with formatting citations for the sources you find, including paintings, photographs, and sculpture (14.235) and exhibition catalogues (14.236).

Stay healthy and well!
Kaeley McMahan
mcmahak@wfu.edu

Two Tech Tips:

1. Download and use VPN: If you keep VPN running in the background while you access campus resources (ebooks, databases, etc...) it makes it look like you are on campus, so many of the authentication issues you might otherwise have will go away.
2. ProQuest Ebook Central: If you get this error message, don't fear!  Just do as it says and reload the page and it will take you to your book:
   

Online Reference Resources

Use reference resources to find background information, define terms, understand the historical context of an individual or event, and start building a bibliography to consult.

Scholarly Ebooks

You will find many scholarly ebooks on art topics in the library catalog.  Use an asterisk (*) to expand your search.  In the example below, paint*=paint, paints, painter, painted, painting, etc...

Many museums have also made their exhibition catalogs and other documents available for free on their websites, so browse around and see what you might find.

Scholarly Journal Articles

You can locate scholarly journal articles through several art history databases, as well as history and multi-subject databases.  If you are looking for scholarly/peer-reviewed/academic articles look for these features:

• at least 8-10 pages in length
• author is an academic (professor, PhD, researcher, etc...)
• published in an academic journal (Oxford Art Journal, Art History, etc...)
• the bibliography is appropriate for the article length

Images

Images from the ARTstor database can be used in papers and presentations.  You may find other images via museum websites, but confirm that they are free to use.  See the Finding Images & Websites tab for more information and links to major museum collections.