A few research tips as you start out on your projects:
A bit of local history info that may help as you research:
Winston-Salem has had several newspapers, the two most prominent are the Winston-Salem Journal and the Twin City Sentinel, which was absorbed into the Journal. Access is available to these newspapers through microfilm and online options, depending on the year.
Additional access to these newspapers, and others published in Winston-Salem, can be found at the Forsyth County Public Library.
The New York Times is also an excellent resource for information on architects and architectural firms, and "contemporary" discussions of architecture, as well as announcements regarding groundbreakings and building rennovations.
Popular and scholarly articles on architecture can be located via the following databases, which include architectural trade journals as well as scholarly journals.
You will find local history resources in our book collection and in Special Collections & Archives.
Browse these call number areas to find books on architecture and local history:
F - State and local American history
F262 F7 - Forsyth County history
F264 S32 - (Old) Salem history
F264 W8 - Winston-Salem history
NA - Architecture
NA705-738 - United States architecture
NA730 N8 - Winston-Salem architecture
F call numbers are located on Reynolds 7. N call numbers are located on Reynolds 6. Some items may be located in our off-site storage facility. It is no problem to request that those items be brought back to ZSR for you to check out. Those requests should be filled within 24 hours (depending on the day of the week). If you just need an article from a print journal that is in our off-site facility, you can request that it be scanned as a PDF and it will be emailed to you.
If you need to consult reference resources regarding architectural styles and design, here are a few options:
Our Special Collections & Archives has several collections regarding the buildings on campus. You can search their page, but it is highly recommended that you schedule an appointment in order to view original documents, photographs, and architectural plans that may not be digitized.
A few examples of resources in their collection: