Data Sets:

Data set

Unpublished raw data

Tests, Scales, and Inventories

Manual for a test, scale, or inventory

Test, scale, or inventory itself

Database record for a test

Data Set:

• When a version number exists, include it in parentheses after the title.
• The bracketed description is flexible (e.g., data set, data set and code book). 
• In the source element of the reference provide the name of the organization that has published, archived, produced, or distributed the data set.

Examples:

Unpublished Raw Data

• The date for unpublished data is the year(s) of collection.
• In the source element of the reference provide the source (e.g., a university), if known. 
• Include a retrieval date only if the data set is designed to change over time (e.g., if the data are still undergoing collection).

Example:

Manual for a Test, Scale, or Inventory:

• To cite a test, scale, or inventory, provide a citation for its supporting literature (e.g., its manual, which may be an authored or edited book, or the journal article in which it was published).
• The title of a test, scale, or an inventory should be capitalized using title case whenever it appears in a paper. Although the test title may be italicized in a reference, in the text, the title of a test should appear in title case in standard (nonitalic) type.  

Example:

Test, Scale, or Inventory Itself

• Cite the test, scale, or inventory itself only if a manual or other supporting literature is not available to cite; if a manual is available for a test, cite the manual, not the test.

Example:

Database Record for a Test

• Test database records (e.g., records from PsycTESTS, the ETS TestLink collection, or the CINAHL database) typically provide unique descriptive and administrative information about tests; cite the database record if you use this unique information. Otherwise, cite the test's supporting literature, if available.

Example: