Websites can be used as scholarly information sources, or as primary source material (reflecting its time and place, or a particular viewpoint).

Types of scholarly websites:

• Metasites: sites that collect links to a variety of resources for a discipline or subject area.

• Websites of libraries, archives, museums, other research institutions, scholarly associations. Including institutional repositories.

• Scholarly projects (William Blake Archive, Perseus Project, databases like ATLA, RISM).

• Scholars' personal websites.

Evaluating websites:

• See "Resources" below.

Evaluating websites:

• Cornell's guide
• Berkeley's guide

Mindmap: Humanities Literature: How it's Published

Literary: 

• William Blake Archive
• Labyrinth (medieval studies)
• Luminarium (English literature)
• The Victorian Web
• Romantic Circles

History:

• Valley of the Shadow: Two communities in the American Civil War
• Civil War in the American South
• Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
• English Heritage: Visible in Stone  (women's history)
• Proceedings of the Old Bailey
• Digital Library on American Slavery

Art:

    Museums & Digital Collections:

• Art Institute of Chicago
• Art Resource
• The Barnes Foundation
• British Museum
• The Getty
• Library of Congress Digital Collections
• Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Catalog
• The Louvre
• Metropolitan Museum of Art
• Museum of Contemporary Art (Los Angeles)
• Museum of Modern Art  (New York)
• National Gallery (UK)
• National Gallery (USA)
• NYPL Picture Collection
• NYPL Digital Gallery
• Royal Academy of Arts
• Smithsonian Institution
• The State Hermitage Museum
• Vatican Museums
• Web Gallery of Art
• Google Art Project

    Art Metasites:

• Art History Resources on the Web
• the-artists.org
• Great Buildings

Music metasites:

• Harvard: Online Resources for Music Scholars

Religious studies sites:

• International Institute of Islamic Thought
• Websites on religion (Atla)

Classics:

• Perseus Project

Philosophy:

• PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy

Due to the amount of searchable content on the web, you'll want use your most precise search strategy. You can always drop keywords to broaden your search as needed.