Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 7th ed. Style Guide: Newspapers

Selected guide from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, Seventh Edition.

Essential Elements

Citations from newspaper articles should include the following:

1. Name of Author (if available)

2. Title of Article (in quotations)

3. Title of Newspaper (italicized)

4. Date of Publication

5. Page Number

6. Medium of Publication

Note: Additional information is required if citing from a Web or database resource. See the examples to the right or consult the MLA Handbook, 7th ed.

Sample Citation - Newspaper Articles

Print Newspaper Article

Because newspaper articles often don’t appear on consecutive pages, cite the section and page number where the article begins. If the article continues onto additional pages, note this by placing a + sign after the page number.

Signed Article

Example:

Ahrens, Frank. "Washington Post Co. Returns to Profit with Cost Cutting." Washington Post 1 Aug. 2009: A11+. Print.

Unsigned Article

If the article is unsigned, begin with the title of the article.

Example:

 "Retirement Expert Urges Diversity in 401(k) Options." USA Today 19 Jan. 2010: 4B. Print.


News Article Accessed Through an Online Database

Cite the article as you would a print article, followed by the database in which you accessed the article, the medium of publication (Web), and the date of access.

Example:

Henry, Reg. "Tweeting Our Way to Our Own Demise." Knoxville News Sentinal 23 Mar. 2009: 11. NewsBank. Web. 28 Aug. 2009.

* See Online Databases section for more information.


News Article Published Online (Not Accessed Through a Database)

If you are citing an article published online which you have not accessed through a database, treat it as you would any other website.

Example:

Munger, Frank. "The Weird History of OR: Frogs, Monkeys, and Silver." Knoxnews.com. Knoxville News-Sentinel, 11 Oct. 2009. Web. 27 Jan. 2010.

*See Web Sites section for more information.

Need help? Chat with us