Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
After you have consulted books and journal articles, you may also want to use web resources. Take a look at this page as you evalute the websites you find.
The sites below are examples of the types of websites that are appropriate for research and contain reliable information.
Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater YouTube Page
Performance videos, interviews, and additional content from the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater company.
America's Dance Treasures
Biographical sketches and company histories of the most influential choreographers, performers, and companies in dance. Includes photographs, videos, and research resources. Originally created by the Dance Heritage Coalition, now archived at the Library of Congress.
American Ballet Theatre Archive
Explore the history of the American Ballet Theatre through their archive. Browse by year of production, ballet title, choreographer, or composer.
Also includes a dictionary of ballet terms with audio pronunciation clips.
An American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490-1920
Over 200 dance manuals representing almost 500 years of social dance history, from the collections of the Library of Congress
Bhutan Dance Project, Core of Culture
Videos of Bhutanese dances from the collection of the New York Public Library.
Dance Heritage Video Archive
Originally collected by the Dance Heritage Coalition's Dance Preservation and Digitization Project, these 1200 videos are now archived at the University of Southern California.
Dance Index Archive
Archive of the magazine Dance Index, founded by Lincoln Kirstein in 1942. Kirstein was also a co-founder of the New York City Ballet Company.
Dance of the African Diaspora-Jacob's Pillow
Essays and videos that explore the contributions of African American dancers and choreographers at the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, curated by dance history scholar John Perpener.
Dance Oral History Project
Oral histories collected by the Jerome Robbins Dance Division of the New York Public Library.
Dance Studies Association
Scholarly association for the study of dance. Founded in 2017 through the merger of the Congress on Research in Dance and the Socieity of Dance History Scholars organizations.
Free to Dance Historical Timeline: 1619-2001
Companion website to the PBS documentary "Free to Dance." Historical timeline covers important milestones in African-American dance from 1619-2001.
If Cities Could Dance
Short films looking at current dance cultures in multiple US cities. Produced by PBS.
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
Search Broadway productions, performers, awards, characters, and statistics.
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Search for performers, films, television series and more.
Jacob's Pillow Archives
View items from the archives of the Jacob's Pillow festival, Ted Shawn, and the Denishawn Company. Items include audio, books, costumes, photographs, programs, and more.
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
Archive of dance performances filmed at Jacob's Pillow, the oldest dance festival in the United States.
Listening Back: Black Dance Artists in CQ 2016-2020
Collection of articles on Black dance from the journal Contact Quarterly.
Martha Graham Dance Company
"The Martha Graham Dance Company has been a world leader in the evolving art form of modern dance since its founding in 1926. Today, the Company embraces a new vision that showcases masterpieces by Graham alongside newly commissioned works by contemporary artists. With programs that offer a rich thematic narrative, the Company creates new platforms for contemporary dance and multiple points of access for audiences."
Merce Cunningham Trust
View "Video Capsules" of archived performances, writings, and other documentation of the choreographic work of Merce Cunningham.
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
Get information on one of the largest and most important performing arts collections in the world.
Free video database featuring content from European dance companies.
PBS Great Performances: Dance
Includes links to full episodes of dance performances from the "Great Performances" series on PBS.
Pioneers of Chinese Dance
Archive of videos, photographs, and more, covering the history of 20th century Chinese dance.
Politics and the Dancing Body
Library of Congress exhibition on how choreographers of the early- to mid-20th century used dance to promote social change.
Tap at Jacob's Pillow
Essays and videos about tap at Jacob's Pillow. Curated by Brian Seibert.
Tap Dance in America: A Twentieth-Century Chronology of Tap Performance on Stage, Film, and Media
A database of the history of tap dance in America, compiled by dance scholar Constance Valis Hill.
Women in Dance-Jacob's Pillow
Essays and videos about the contributions of women to the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival. Curated by dance history scholar Maura Keefe.