Research Guides: Dance History Research Resources: Finding Articles

Finding Schoarly Journal Articles

Scholarly Journal Articles

Use online databases to locate scholarly journal articles. Be aware that these databases also include articles that may not be appropriate for scholarly research, such as those from magazines and newspapers, as well as book reviews and performance reviews.

If you are looking for scholarly/peer-reviewed/academic articles, look for these features:

at least 8-10 pages in length
author is an academic (professor, PhD, researcher, etc....) or in some cases a practitioner (dancer, choreographer, designer, etc..)
published in an academic journal (Dance Chronicle, Dance Research Journal, Performance Research, etc...)
the bibliography is appropriate for the article length

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text. Coverage: 1864-
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and citations for scholarly journals articles, magazines, exhibition reviews, and trade publications. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals. Topics covered include antiques, archaeology, art, art history, architecture, folk art, graphic arts, interior and landscape design, movies, and television. Also includes an image collection. Coverage: 1929-
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of dance as physical therapy, dance injuries, and dance in sports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of archived issues of academic journals. Since JSTOR is a backfiles project, a typical coverage range is the beginning of a journal until three or five years ago. Artstor images are now integrated into JSTOR. Supported in part by the Dail Endowment Fund. Coverage: Varies
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of scholarly journals and books in the arts and humanities and social sciences. Coverage: Varies
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Search for articles about the history and culure of the United States and Canada. Publications include peer-reviewed journals, magazines, dissertations, books, and more. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Note: For world history topics, use the Historical Abstracts database. Coverage: 1964-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-

Finding Performance Reviews

Performance reviews can be located in a variety of databases and publications. Most databases include the option to limit to "review" as a document type, so select that option along with searching for your production name to limit your results.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text. Coverage: 1864-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, and more. Good general-purpose database for researching most topics. Coverage: 1985-

New York Times: 1857-1922
Select "advanced search" for the best search interface.
New York Times: 1923-2017
Select "advanced search" for the best search interface.
Variety