Dance Encyclopedias
Use Reference Resources to get background information on an dancer, piece of choreography, or terminology. Many of these sources include bibliographies which list additional books and journal articles that would be useful for further research on the topic.
These are selections from the available resources:
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Call Number: ebookISBN: 019509462XPublication Date: 1998This is the standard reference resource for dance research. International Encyclopedia of Dance has excellent historical overview articles, as well as profiles of dancers, companies, and choreographers.
The Routledge Companion to Dance Studies by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781315306551Publication Date: 2019
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Call Number: EBOOK & GV1585 B46 1998ISBN: 1558623590Publication Date: 1998Includes chronological listings of dances performed in or choreographed.
International Dictionary of Ballet by Call Number: REF GV1585 I57 1993ISBN: 1558620842Publication Date: 1993Includes chronological listings of dances performed in or choreographed.
The Encyclopedia of World Ballet by Call Number: EBOOK & GV1585 S66 2015ISBN: 9781442245259Publication Date: 2015
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Call Number: EBOOK & GV1585 C73 2000ISBN: 9780199563449Publication Date: 2010
Social Dancing in America by Call Number: REF GV1623 G56 2007ISBN: 9780313337567Publication Date: 2006v.1: Fair Terpsichore to the Ghost Dance, 1607-1900
v.2: Lindy Hop to Hip Hop, 1901-2000
The Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance by Call Number: EBOOK & GV1743 S68 2016ISBN: 9781442257481Publication Date: 2016The Language of Spanish Dance by
Call Number: GV1673 .M35 2003ISBN: 9780871272560Publication Date: 2003
Dictionary of Ballet Terms by Call Number: REF GV1585 .K45 1997ISBN: 9780713647532Publication Date: 1997
Historical & Cultural Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias that cover cultural and historical topics can help you get a better idea of the time and place in which the dances you are studying were developed and performed. These resources include entries on dances popular during the historical time periods they cover, as well as dance traditions that developed in specific cultures or geographical areas.
American Decades: 1900-1999ISBN: 9781414411163
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular CultureCall Number: ebookISBN: 9781558628472Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryCall Number: ebookISBN: 9780028660714Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780684312705Publication Date: 2008International Directory of Company Histories
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781558624825This series includes the histories of many ballet and dance companies, as well as companies that produce products for performance (costume, shoes, etc...).
