Research Guides: FYS: Jerusalem the Holy: DVDs, Streaming Video, Images & Music

Finding Films in ZSR

The easiest way to locate both DVDs and streaming videos in ZSR is to use the Film Collection page, though you will still see films in the results of a regular catalog search. Doing a search for "jerusalem" results in 495 DVDs and streaming films, including documentaries and news footage, such as this newsreel from the capture of Jerusalem by the British Army in 1917.

Finding Images in ZSR

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Provides images for use in academic papers and presentations, covering a broad range of subjects beyond art history. Images have been contributed by major museums, institutional archives, personal collections. Artstor is now integrated into the JSTOR platform.

Use the ARTstor database to find images to use in your videos and presentations. All images included in ARTstor have been rights-cleared so that they can be used at Wake Forest for any academic projects.

In ARTstor you will find a variety of types of images relating to Jerusalem:

historic photographs of buildings and people
contemporary photographs of buildings
archaeological artifacts
paintings, drawings, and prints with Jerusalem as a location or subject
maps
manuscripts

Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
The Index of Medieval Art contains examples of Christian, Jewish, Islamic, and secular art from the late antique period to the sixteenth century.

The Index of Medieval Art is produced by Princeton University, and contains images and information on Jewish, Christian, and Islamic art and objects from late antiquity through the 16th century.

A search for "jerusalem" in the database brings back almost 4000 results, including:

coins
illuminated manuscripts
maps
mosaics
sculpture
archaelogical artifacts

Finding Music in ZSR

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University and material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent; contains genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

The Music Online databases include audio that can be clipped and inserted into presentations and projects. Use keywords such as "islam" or "israel" to find relevant audio tracks.