Religious Studies Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide an overview of a subject, introduce basic concepts, summarize key issues, define terms, and cite sources that can lead a researcher to additional information. Encyclopedia articles may also refer to other entries on related topics and provide you with a list of books and articles to help continue your research. The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are examples of the type of resources located in the Reference Department, Wilson 4:
The Anchor BibleCall Number: REF BS192.2 A1 1964 G3ISBN: 0385233175There is a separate volume for each biblical book in this series.
Women's Bible Commentary by Call Number: ebook & REF BS491.2 W66 2012ISBN: 9780664237073Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780195377378Publication Date: 2011
Oxford Bible Atlas by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780191001581Publication Date: 2007print also available, REF BS630 O96 2007, on the Commentary Shelves
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period: 450 BCE to 600 CECall Number: REF BM50 D525 1996ISBN: 0028972929
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the BibleCall Number: ebookISBN: 0195146417Print version also available at REF BS570 O94 2001
Online Reference Collections
- Oxford Reference Online: ReligionIncludes the Oxford Encyclopedias of the Bible collection (formerly in Oxford Biblical Studies Online), the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of South Asian Christianity.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: ReligionEach handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explains the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and describes how those debates might evolve. The handbooks offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to the scholarship that defines the field. The collection includes almost 50 handbooks on topics such as: Ritual and Worship in the Hebrew Bible; New Testament, Gender, and Sexuality; and Buddhist Ethics.
- Blackwell Companions to ReligionThere are over 50 titles in this Companion series, including: Hebrew Bible, New Testament, Paul, Religion and Ecology, Christian Ethics, Latino/a Theology, and African Religions.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical StudiesOxford Bibliographies Online are authoritative, scholar-developed research guides covering a variety of subject areas. They combine features of an annotated bibliography and a subject encyclopedia, guiding researchers to the best available scholarship on a given topic.
- Religion CompassPeer-reviewed surveys of current research in the major disciplines and sub-disciplines in religious studies, including new religions, ancient near eastern religions and east asian traditions.
Language Helps
These are examples of the types of resources which can assist in the translation and exegesis of scripture passages.
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian LiteratureCall Number: REF PA881 B38 2000ISBN: 0226039331
Greek-English Concordance to the New Testament by Call Number: REF BS2302 .K657 1997ISBN: 0310402204Publication Date: 1997
The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew. I. Aleph. Revised Edition by Call Number: REF PJ4833 D53 2018ISBN: 9781909697379Publication Date: 2018
