This site provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. The materials listed are freely available to the public and were created or are hosted at an academic institution associated with SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials), either through institutional membership or through the personal membership of a staff member. The sources linked range from collections of Mexican incunabula (1559-1600), to Latin American posters.
Provides access to newspapers published across Latin America between 1805-1922, including from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and more. Coverage: 1805-1922
Provides searchable, full page image digital access to newspapers published in the Caribbean region during the 18th and 19th century. Includes titles published in English, Spanish, French, and Danish. Coverage: 1718-1876
El Mundo was a respected, conservative Puerto Rican newspaper that was a key source for news. This open access archive includes the paper's full run from 1919-1990 (in Spanish).
Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad. Coverage: 1833-1969
Features Latin American Drama, a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Provides images for use in academic papers and presentations, covering a broad range of subjects beyond art history. Images have been contibuted by major museums, institutional archives, personal collections.
Contains articles published in ethnic and minority newspapers and magazines (primarily published in the US), and in international scholarly journals (primarily english language) that focus on ethnic and minority issues. Coverage: 1995-
Full-text seachable library of high-quality digitized materials such as books, articles, government information, and more from libraries around the world. Includes public domain and in-copyright content. Log in as a WFU user to download PDFs and access additional features. Coverage: Varies
