Welcome!
This guide is intended for general research on topics related to Latin American and Latino Studies. If you need additional help with researching a specific topic,
please contact me at shielddk@wfu.edu or schedule a personal research session with a librarian.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean CulturesCall Number: F1406 .E515 2000ISBN: 9780415131889
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureCall Number: F1406 .E53 2008; EBOOKISBN: 9780684312705
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003Call Number: PQ7081.A1 E558 2004; EBOOKISBN: 0415306876
Acknowledgement
The guide author utilized Carmen Greenlee's Latin American Studies guide for Bowdoin College Library and the Latin American & Caribbean Studies guide from the University of Miami in developing this guide.
Online Reference Sources
Specific Reference Sources on Latin America
- Digitalia Hispanica This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search or browse scholarly e-books and e-journals from Spain, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic, and more. Subject Collections include Architecture, Art, Caribbean Studies, Historic Periodicals of Spain, Law, Religion and Mythology, Spanish Literature Criticism, and many more.
- HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latinx communities in the United States since the late 1960s. Topics include political, economic, and social issues and the arts and humanities. Coverage: 1970-
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowA bibliography on Latin America consisting of social sciences and humanities works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage: 1936-
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies Online are authoritative, scholar-developed research guides covering a variety of subject areas. They combine features of an annotated bibliography and a subject encyclopedia, guiding researchers to the best available scholarship on the topic.
General Reference Sources
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers political, economic and statistical information about more than 250 countries and territories, as well as international and regional organizations. A starting point for any kind of country research. Coverage: Details not available
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes a topic finder for help with narrowing or broadening your research topic. Coverage: varies
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOverviews of research and trends and background information in the Social Sciences and Humanities. WFU access includes the following subject collections: Asian Studies; Communication, Journalism, Media & Culture; Environment & Sustainability; Law; Philosophy; Politics; Religion; Security Studies; and Sociology.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowContains information on present and past aspects of cultural and social life for a worldwide sample of societies. Provides descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups. Includes citations, abstracts, and full text of ethnographic and other materials, indexed by culture and subject. Ideal for both exploratory, in-depth cultural research, and cross-cultural comparisons. Coverage: 1991-
Searching the ZSR Library Catalog for Latin America
Search the ZSR Library Catalog for books, ebooks, streaming video, and more. Can't find what you need? Ask a Librarian!
Suggested Call Number Ranges:
History
F1201-3799 Latin America. Spanish America. (further broken down by country/region)
Language
PC4001-4977 Spanish (further broken down by country/region)
Literature
PQ6001-8929 Spanish Literature (further broken down by genre, time period, location)
PQ7081-8560 Spanish America
Sample Subject Headings:
Country--Subject
Bolivia -- History
Brazil -- Politics
Cuba -- Religion
Region--Subject
Latin America -- History
Caribbean Area -- Politics and culture
Central America -- Discovery and exploration
Subject--Country (or region)
Art -- Latin America
Social movements -- Ecuador
Music -- Caribbean
Industry, Commerce, and Business Information
Latin America -- Economic conditions
Small business -- Latin America
Agriculture -- Paraguay
Librarian
304 ZSR Library
History & Social Science Librarian
