Skip to main content

CNS 721: Research and Statistical Analysis in Counseling (Online): Searching Databases

Resources, tutorials, and readings for CNS 721: Research and Statistical Analysis in Counseling

Getting Started

Jumping right into a database search without first thinking about your search terms or search strategy will get frustrating fast. Cut your research time in half by developing a good search strategy first. 

Trust me, I'm a librarian.

Finding and Browsing Databases

ZSR Library subscribes to more than 270 databases that support the programs at Wake Forest. To browse our database offerings by subject or format, visit http://zsr.wfu.edu/databases/, or click Find > Databases from the ZSR Library home page.

ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO provides comprehensive coverage for the field of psychology. Contains abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, journals, dissertations, and other sources. Links to full text in PsycARTICLES.

PubMed

PubMed is the database of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and it searches more than 22 million records in the biomedical literature, including literature on mental health. This is a large and very complex database, so spend some time in the tutorials provided by the NLM, which are far beyond anything I could produce for you.

Need help? Chat with us