Research Guides: CNS 721: Research and Statistical Analysis in Counseling (Online): Reference Sources

Reference eBooks

A small sample of reference works available online as ebooks.

Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Gary Groth-Marnat
ISBN: 9780470438077
Publication Date: 2009
Handbook of Counseling Psychology by Steven D. Brown (Ed.); Robert W. Lent (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780470228289
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by Charles Spielberger (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780126574104
Publication Date: 2004
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Ed.); P. B. Baltes (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780080430768
Publication Date: 2001

What is a "Reference Source?"

"Reference" is a loose term we use in libraryland to describe those works that have a certain general usefulness to them. These sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. They typically provide broad summary and overview rather than in-depth analysis, so they make great places to start any research project.

How do I find reference sources?

Reference works can be found a few different ways. There are standalone reference books (and many reference ebooks) that you can access through the catalog (examples on the left). There are full-text online databases that can search within numerous reference works at the same time (see below).

In all of these, performing broad searches is best: just one or two words, since their contents are typically short overview pieces.

Reference Databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable full text of reference books in many subjects. Books can be searched together or individually.
CREDO Reference
Credo Reference includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,100 short reference videos, nearly 450,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps across all subject areas.
Science Direct (limit to Reference Works)
Tip: Limit your search to "Reference Works" in Psychology and Social Sciences.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains descriptions of nearly 1900 commercially published standardized educational, personality, vocational aptitude, and psychological tests. Each record provides authors, publishers, time requirements, score descriptions, intended populations, validity/reliability data, and critical reviews.

Statistics & Other Useful Sources

National Institutes for Mental Health: Statistics
This resource represents the "best statistics currently available on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the population of the United States, in addition to information about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability."
SAMHSA’s National Mental Health Information Center (NMHIC): Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS): Mental Health Statistics
"SAMHSA's Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) provides guidance and technical assistance to decision makers at all levels of government on the design, structure, content, and use of mental health information systems, with the ultimate goal of improving the quality of mental health programs and services delivery."
Statistical Abstract of the United States
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."