Fall 2024 Graduate Student Research Retreat
October 17th @ 11am to 3pm, ZSR Library 665
ZSR Library is hosting their annual Graduate Student Research Retreat! Come learn about time management, AI tools for research, addressing writer’s block, and what you need to know about copyright. Free lunch will be provided with vegan and gluten-free options available. Register here.
Questions? Email womack@wfu.edu
ZSR Resources for Graduate Students
The links below provide information about resources and services available to graduate students through ZSR Library.
If you have questions about any of these services, please contact the appropriate person listed on the webpage or your library liaison, Kathy Shields, at shielddk@wfu.edu.
History & Social Science Librarian
Conducting Structured Literature Reviews
As you begin your research, we recommend reviewing these resources for conducting a structured literature review. Even if you are not performing a full systematic review, drafting a detailed plan of your study before you begin any type of literature review ensures reproducibility and transparency and reduces bias.
Finding Tests & Measures
Tips & Tricks for Finding Tests & Measures:
- FAQ: Finding Information About Psychological TestsThis website created by the American Psychology Association describes how to find published and unpublished tests.
- Searching PsycINFO's Tests & Measures Field via EBSCOhost [Video]This video will show you how to use the Test & Measures field of the PsycINFO database on the EBSCOhost platform.
Resources for Finding Tests & Measures:
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowIncludes a tool called "Which Stats Test" to help you choose an appropriate statistical test for your research, along with many other resources to support qualitative and quantitative research.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). Links to full text in PsycARTICLES and to other resources in ZSR. Coverage: 1806-
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. The series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. Coverage: 9th edition through present
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is a comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses, as well as citations and abstracts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Look in the appendices of dissertations to find copies of surveys or questionnaires. Include the words "test," "survey," or "questionnaire" in your search along with the term you are measuring. For example: body image and (test or survey or questionnaire).
If you are unable to get the full dissertation, contact ZSR Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy.
Tests in Print IX: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific TestsCall Number: Reference Desk, Wilson 4ISBN: 9780910674652Publication Date: 2016ZSR Library has print copies of all volumes in this series. Use this to find test information, including publisher, cost, and availability.
- Tests and Measures in the Social SciencesThe "Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences" (TMSS) is an index to tests and measurement tools used in psychology, sociology, health, marketing, management, and so on, that may be found in one or more reference resources.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Useful for interdisciplinary topics in Psychology and Communication.
Go to "advanced search" and type in the following in search box #1: "measur* or assessment or questionnaire or survey or scale"
Type in your research topic in box #2 for a combined search.
Finding Grey Literature
Grey literature is literature that does not go through the traditional scholarly publishing process, but is produced by governments, academia, NGOs and IGOs, think tanks, and other groups where publishing is not the primary purpose of the organization. Examples of grey literature include: dissertations, theses, working papers, government reports, policy documents, conference presentations and abstracts, pre-prints, and more. Unlike scholarship produced through traditional venues, grey literature tends to be widely dispersed and may require a different search strategy. For help locating grey literature, contact your librarian!
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull-text and abstracts of dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present from the US, UK, and Ireland. Full-text coverage is mainly 1997-present but many older ones are also full-text. Coverage: 1861-
- SocArXivSocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
Zotero
Do you know Zotero? This powerful citation manager helps you keep up with everything you find during the research process, then it helps you cite your sources in-text as you write your paper and generates a bibliography at the end. Interested in learning more? Check out our Zotero guide to work through a self-guided tutorial, watch our Zotero tutorials on YouTube, or make a virtual appointment to get more help!
APA Citation and Style Resources
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Reference Desk - Wilson 4th Floor BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
