Welcome
Welcome to the research guide for Psychology. Below you will find many of the library resources for doing research in Psychology and related fields. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask!
Use the buttons in my profile box below to contact me and schedule a personal research session!
Contact Us
Kathy Shields
she/her
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, American History, Area Studies, East Asian Studies, Ethnic Studies, History - General, Latin American & Latino Studies, Medieval & Early Modern Studies, Middle East & South Asia Studies, Primary Sources, Psychology, Russian & East European Studies, Social Sciences - General, World History
Background and Context Sources
- SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Books This link opens in a new window
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
Online edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders. WFU access includes DSM-5, the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781452256719Publication Date: 2016
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral SciencesCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780080430768Publication Date: 2001
Article Databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). Links to full text in PsycARTICLES and to other resources in ZSR. Coverage: 1806-
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full-text of peer-reviewed articles published in all APA journals as well as select affiliated journals. All PsycARTICLES content is included in PsycINFO.
- ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexing for scholarly journals on psychology and associated research areas including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. Coverage: 1990-
- ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Coverage: 1987-
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Areas of focus include science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowContains three ISI Citation Databases (Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index), plus Biological Abstracts, Emerging Sources Citation Index, MEDLINE (PubMed), and the SciELO Citation Index. Provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage: 1945-
- scite.ai This link opens in a new windowscite.ai is a tool that helps students and researchers discover and understand research findings more efficiently through Smart Citations. In addition, individuals are able to visualize and share metrics on their own publications. Use VPN to access remotely.
Other Databases Useful in Psychology Research
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations & abstracts from international life sciences journals. Fields covered include: biology, botany, zoology, biotechnology, and environmental studies. Coverage: 1980-
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database covers more than 500 communication and media journals as well as journals from related fields. Coverage: 1915-
- ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowOur primary education database, ERIC has an enormous collections of journals, book chapters and other research on children and adolescents. Coverage: 1967-
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts to articles published in sociology, social welfare, and social policy, as well as other related topics in the social and behavioral sciences. Also includes citations to some books and many dissertations. Includes Social Services Abstracts. Coverage: 1952-
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull-text and abstracts of dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present from the US, UK, and Ireland. Full-text coverage is mainly 1997-present but many older ones are also full-text. Coverage: 1861-
APA Citation and Style Resources
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Reference Desk - Wilson 4th Floor BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Zotero
Do you know Zotero? This powerful citation manager helps you keep up with everything you find during the research process, then it helps you cite your sources in-text as you write your paper and generates a bibliography at the end. Interested in learning more? Check out our Zotero guide to work through a self-guided tutorial, watch our Zotero tutorials on YouTube, or make a virtual appointment to get more help!
Video Resources
Additional streaming video resources are available under Find a Database on the Multimedia page.
- JoVE Essentials of Behavioral Science This link opens in a new window
- Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Video This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Video Psychology This link opens in a new window