Media Studies Databases
The interdisciplinary nature of Communication requires researchers to use a variety of databases. Below are the databases we find that students in Communication use most frequently, but there are many other possibilities depending on your topic. If you are unsure about what database to use, PLEASE....Ask a Librarian.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteThis full-text database covers more than 500 communication and media journals as well as journals from related fields.
- Film and Television Literature IndexSubject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Academic Search PremierA good multi-subject database that include journals as well as popular news sources.
- APA PsycINFOProvides comprehensive coverage for the field of psychology. Contains abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, journals, dissertations, and other sources. Links to full text in PsycARTICLES.
- Sociological AbstractsProvides citations and abstracts to articles published in some 2300 journals in sociology, social welfare, and social policy, as well as other related topics in the social and behavioral sciences. Also includes citations to some books and many dissertations.
- ERICCitations and abstracts of journals on education. Contains many research studies on media influence, impact and consequences.
Books on Media Studies
Books
To find books in our library, use the Online Catalog. Call numbers for Film Studies are in the PN1900s. Call numbers for Mass Media Studies are P94 to P96, These are on the 5th floor of the Reynolds wing. Some books on film or mass media may be shelved with other disciplines. Books on women in film or the media, for example, may be with the Womens' Studies books, etc.
Media and Film materials have P and PN call numbers and are concentrated on Reynolds 5. This section is divided:
- P87-96 - Communication. Mass media
- PN1990-1992.92 - Broadcasting
- PN1991-1991.9 - Radio broadcasts
- PN1992-1992.92 - Television broadcasts
- PN1992.93-19 92.95 - Nonbroadcast video recordings
- PN1993-1999 - Motion pictures
Web Resources in Media Studies
Subject Guide
