Communication Databases
The interdisciplinary nature of Communication requires researchers to use a variety of databases. Below are the databases we find that students in Communication use most frequently, but there are many other possibilities depending on your topic. If you are unsure about what database to use, just ask me!
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteThis full-text database covers more than 500 communication and media journals as well as journals from related fields.
- APA PsycINFOProvides comprehensive coverage for the field of psychology. Contains abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, journals, dissertations, and other sources. Links to full text in PsycARTICLES.
- Sociological AbstractsProvides citations and abstracts to articles published in some 2300 journals in sociology, social welfare, and social policy, as well as other related topics in the social and behavioral sciences. Also includes citations to some books and many dissertations.
- ERICCitations and abstracts of journals on education. Contains many research studies on media influence, impact and consequences.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life.
- America: History and LifeAmerica: History and Life provides abstracts and citations from reviews and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the earliest recorded times to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsContains abstracts and indexing from professional journals, major news magazines and books covering law, politics, political science, and public administration.
Data and Statistics
- Pew ResearchThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Its work is carried out by these seven projects:
The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press,
Project for Excellence in Journalism,
Pew Internet & American Life Project,
The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life,
Pew Hispanic Center,
Pew Global Attitudes Project,
Social & Demographic Trends - ICPSRInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research provides access to data for academic research.
Finding Survey Instruments
When resrearching in Communication you will often come across articles that use certain survey instruments or other measurement scales, etc. and want to locate them. Here are some tips for doing that.
1. Look in the appendix of that article.
2. Determine whether the authors of the study developed the instrument or were using one from an earlier study.
3. If they were using an earlier one, check the bibliography and locate the original study that used the instrument and check the appendix of that article.
4. If the authors developed the instrument but did not put it in the appendix, you have several options:
- Search in relevant databases for the exact name of the instrument (i.e "Social Anxiety Scale") to see if you can find other studies that may have used it an put it in their appendix. Google Scholar can also be a good place to search for the title of the instrument.
- If it looks like it is a very well-known test (like the Myers-Briggs) then you can check Mental Measurement Yearbook or Tests in Print (located in Reference. Call number: Ref Z5814.E9 T47 2002) to see who you need to contact to use and/or purchase the test.
- As a last resort you may need to contact the original authors of the study to see if they will send it to you. Check their institution affiliation from the article and begin there, but you may need to Google them.
Books
To find books in our library, use the Online Catalog. Call numbers for Communication Science resources are in P87 - P90s. These are on the 5th floor of the Reynolds wing. Some books on communication may be shelved with other disciplines. Books on women in communication, for example, may be with the Womens' Studies books, etc.
Communication Science materials have P call numbers and are concentrated on Reynolds 5. This section is divided:
- P87-96 - Communication. Mass media
- P94.7 - Interpersonal communication
- P95-95.6 - Oral communication. Speech
- P98-98.5 - Computational linguistics.
- P99-99.4 - Semiotics. Signs and symbols
- P99.5-99.6 - Nonverbal communication
- P302-302.87 - Discourse analysis
Subject Guide
