Research Guides: WRI110 Archival Rhetorics / WRI111 Voices from the Forest: A Matter of War and Peace

Primary Sources - University Publications

The Howler (yearbook)
Call Number: LD5721 .W557 H6
Publication Date: 1903-2019
Link leads to digitized Howler yearbooks; also available in print in SCA.
The Student (literary magazine)
Call Number: LH1.W4 S78
Publication Date: 1895-current
Link leads to the digitized Student literary magazine; also available in print in SCA. Earlier title Wake Forest Student and later title Three to Four Ounces.

Highlight: "Two Years Later . . . An Interview with J.R. Scales" (1969-1970). Includes discussion of Board of Trustees' resolution on campus disorder.

Old Gold and Black (newspaper)
Call Number: LH1.W4 O64
Publication Date: 1916-2018
Link leads to digitized student newspaper; also available in print in SC&A.

OGB Highlights (keyword search OGB for many more results):

"Kitchin States Wartime Plan" (December 12, 1941)
"Fall Registration Figures Top Records" (September 23, 1949)
"War Rally Draws Hundreds" (May 12, 1972)
The 2000 Presidential Debate (insert)
"Chalk Provokes Campus Controversy" (November 13, 2014)
"Live Updates: Pro Palestenian protest on Hearn Plaza evolves into encampment" (April 30, 2024)

Inside WFU (online news)
An online university news outlet.

Highlights:

"University Policy Update" (August 1, 2024) - links to University Demonstration Policy Update,
After-Action Review Regarding Events from April 30 - May 21, 2024

Winston-Salem Journal (newspaper)
Call Number: microfilm ZnoW73
Publication Date: 1897-current
Archived issues of the local Winston-Salem newspaper on microfilm. Microfilm reels and readers located in the library on Wilson 1.

Other items digitized in the University Publications Collection include student handbooks (1906-2011), Wake Forest Magazine (1928-2022), and more.

Primary Sources - University Records

President's Office, James Ralph Scales
Call Number: RG1.11
Ralph Scales was president of Wake Forest from 1967 to 1983. This collection has not been digitized; link leads to finding aid for the collection. Information on student demonstrations between 1968 and 1970 (Box 2).
President's Newsletter, 1968-1975
Call Number: LD5721.W49 P7
WFU President James Ralph Scales's monthly newsletter to the Board of Trustees.
Steve Nedvidek Collection of Old Gold and Black Cartoons
Call Number: MS905
Publication Date: 1985-1987
Link to finding aid only; collection is not digitized. Steve Nedvidek holds a master's degree in theater from WFU (1987). Collections includes Old Gold and Black cartoons from the 1980s on topics including U.S. foreign policy, N.C. laws, University administrative decisions, student life, and sports.
Andy Heck scroll
Andy Heck was a WFU football player drafted into the Marines in 1967. After Heck was wounded in the Tet Offensive, WFU students and faculty created this scroll of well-wishes for him. This item has not been digitized.

University Archives Photograph Collection
Call Number: RG10.1
Link leads to digitized collection (not all photos have been digitized). The finding aid for the entire collection is available here: https://wakespace.lib.wfu.edu/handle/10339/39540
University Archives Vertical Files
Call Number: RG15
Link leads to the finding aid that can be keyword searched; collection has not been digitized. Vertical files consist of newspaper clippings, published and unpublished documents, and other materials about specific subjects related to WFU history.

Highlights: Anti-war activities files (Box 6); student protest materials (Box 149)
Student Clubs Records
Call Number: RG8.56
Link leads to finding aid; collection has not been digitized. WFU has 243 student clubs and organizations as of 2018, managed by the Office of Student Engagement and the Student Organizations Board. The clubs and organizations range from sports-based, to religious, political, and cultural, to interest and ideology focused, as well as sororities and fraternities. Materials in this collection include promotional materials, such as stickers, fliers, and cards with meeting information.

Primary Sources - Oral Histories

History of WFU Oral Histories
The History of Wake Forest University Oral Histories collection (2013-ongoing) consists of audio and video interviews. Topics include the alumni and student experience, campus social life and community, and the academic life of faculty and staff. Special thematic focus on WFU Global Programs and Services, the LGBTQ community, and women scientists at Wake Forest.

Oral History Highlights:

G. William Joyner oral history
Bill Joyner, WFU class of 1966, played basketball in for WFU and joined the U.S. Army after graduation. Oral history interview includes Joyner's memories of his undergraduate years at Wake Forest, the Vietnam Era, and working in development. Audio only; no transcript.
Sandy Watts oral history

Sandy Watts graduated from Wake Forest University in 1973, majoring in history. In this interview, Watts gives a great deal of historical perspective from the 1970s including the impact of the Vietnam War, Kent State, and Roe v. Wade had on the campus community.

Larry West oral history

Dr. Larry E. West discusses his four decade career as a German professor at Wake Forest University. Covers experience in Germany at the height of the Cold War.

SCA Search

Visit Special Collections and Archives to search all collections.

Highlights

Secondary Sources

WFU Timeline
Timeline of events in WFU history from its beginnings in 1834 to the present.
History of Wake Forest College, Volume IV, 1943-1967
Also available in print: LD5721 W52 P3 1935 vol. 4
History of Wake Forest University, Volume V, 1967-1983
Also available in print: LD5721.W52 P3 2010 vol. 5
The History of Wake Forest University, Volume VI, 1983-2005
Also available in print: LD5721.W52 P3 2010 vol. 6

Related Subject Guides

WFU Activism - Organized by time period.

WWII and Wake Forest

ZSR Library

WRI110 Archival Rhetorics / WRI111 Voices from the Forest: A Matter of War and Peace

Overview

Primary Sources - University Publications

Primary Sources - University Records

Primary Sources - Oral Histories

SCA Search

Highlights

Secondary Sources

Related Subject Guides

SCA Search