Primary Sources - University Publications
- Handbook for the women students of Wake Forest CollegeCall Number: LD5721.W54 H3Publication Date: 1945-1971Link leads to digitized handbooks; also available in print. Informational booklets from the Woman's Government Association with rules and regulations specific to women students at Wake Forest.
- The Howler (yearbook)Call Number: LD5721 .W557 H6Publication Date: 1903-2019Link leads to digitized Howler yearbooks; also available in print in SCA.
- Old Gold and Black (newspaper)Call Number: LH1.W4 O64Publication Date: 1916-2018Link leads to digitized student newspaper; also available in print in SC&A.
OGB Highlights (keyword search OGB for many more results):
- "Record Enrollment: Paper's Tally Says 171 Girls Now in School" (June 12, 1942)
- "Wake May Violate Law; WRC Lawyers Investigate" (February 15, 1974)
- "ICC Files Title IX Complaint" (September 24, 1976)
- "A Look at Homosexuality at Wake Forest" (April 19, 1985)
- "Legislature Defeats Bill on Homophobia" (December 1986)
- “Faculty endorses new stand on gays.” (August 15, 1993)
- “Students, faculty to march in D.C. for gay rights.” (April 22, 1993)
- "Vandalism raises concern of prejudice" (September 19, 2013)
Other items digitized in the University Publications Collection include student handbooks (1906-2011), The Student literary magazine (1882-2015), Wake Forest Magazine (1928-2022), and more.
Primary Sources - Oral Histories
- Strength, Resolve and LegacyThis video commemorates the 50-year anniversary of five women who integrated Wake Forest University's residence halls beginning in 1969.
- History of WFU Oral HistoriesThe History of Wake Forest University Oral Histories collection (2013-ongoing) consists of audio and video interviews. Topics include the alumni and student experience, campus social life and community, and the academic life of faculty and staff. Special thematic focus on WFU Global Programs and Services, the LGBTQ community, and women scientists at Wake Forest.
Oral History Highlights:
Dr. Deborah (Debbie) Best graduated with from Wake Forest University in 1970 with a degree in Psychology and in 1972 received her Master's degree. Best made history in 2004 after being appointed Dean of the College, the first female in this role at Wake Forest. Dr. Best discusses why she came to Wake Forest, the lack of female representation on campus during her years, and her career trajectory. Audio only.
Interview with alumna and friends, class of 1960. They speak briefly about the dance ban on campus and the various rules and regulations that were in place for female students. Audio only.
Sandy Seawright attended Wake Forest for two years beginning in 1965. He then transferred to UNC-Charlotte to be closer to his family. Seawright speaks candidly about his with mental health and identity during his time at Wake, discussing the ways in which therapy helped. Additionally, he details his involvement with ROTC on campus and his struggles with repressing his sexuality while an undergraduate student. Audio only.
Susan Parker was born in November 1958 in Maiden, North Carolina. She describes her family as a traditional Southern Baptist farming household. At the time of this interview in February 2012, it had been about 25 years since she came out to her family. She describes this process and her family's varied reaction. In 1998, Parker and her partner asked the Wake Forest Baptist Church if they would allow them to get married in Wait Chapel. Turmoil ensued since the Baptist Church had mixed sentiments about homosexuality. She describes the process of eventually receiving the approval in September 2000 including advocacy from student groups and faculty. Audio only.
Tré Smith (he/him), originally from Georgia, attended Wake Forest between 2009 and 2013 where he served as Student Body President in 2013. This interview focuses on the time surrounding the founding of Wake Forest's LGBTQ Center and the immediate impact of the Center itself. Easton highlights the charged political climate that inspired students to organize and advocate for the LGBTQ Center. Importantly, Tré mentions how the Center matured queer organizing on campus. Audio only.
- Mother So QueerAn interactive, online exhibit curated by Dr. Angela Mazaris’ Queer Public Histories class (Fall 2015). This exhibit contains full length interviews conducted by past and current students, segments from interviews curated by theme, and a timeline of Wake Forest’s LGBTQ History.
- A Brief History of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Wake Forest UniversityA short film about the creation of the Department of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies featuring interviews with current and former directors.
- A Union in WaitThis video features Susan Parker and Wendy Scott. As members of Wake Forest Baptist Church in 1997, the couple decided they wanted to have a union ceremony in Wake Forest University's Wait Chapel, but was denied by the University. Parker, Scott, their church, and many others joined together to contest the school's decision. This documentary includes interviews with Andrew Sullivan, Barney Frank, Robert Knight, Jimmy Creech, Fred Phelps, Candace Gingrich, Wake Forest University Students, and local ministers. It also includes footage from the Millennium March on Washington.
Primary Sources - University Records
- Lois Johnson Biographical File (1894-1993)Link leads to digitized file; print materials also available. Lois Johnson served as the first Dean of Women from 1942-1962.
- WFU Dean of Women and Women's Government Association records byCall Number: RG4.3Publication Date: 1945-1983Link leads to finding aid for print collection; collection has not been digitized. Includes files on WFC women's societies (precursors to sororities).
- Strings Society and Pi Beta Phi Sorority RecordsCall Number: RG8.35Link to finding aid only; collection is not digitized. Strings was a local sorority founded at WF in 1946. It remained active until 1993 when it became the NC Gamma chapter of Pi Beta Phi sorority. That group has been inactive since 2010, when the national governing body revoked the Gamma Chapter's charter. This collection contains scrapbooks, newsletters, photographs, and artifacts.
- Thymes Society and Kappa Alpha Theta RecordsCall Number: RG8.16Link to finding aid only; records are not digitized. Thymes Society was a local sorority group at Wake Forest University, active from 1968 to 1993. In 1993, it became affiliated with the national sorority Kappa Alpha Theta. The Zeta Omicron chapter was active 1993 to 2002 and then was re-chartered in 2013. This collection contains Thymes Society member scrapbooks, Theta scrapbooks, newsletters, meeting notes, correspondence, and photographs.
- Academic Department Records. Women's, Gender, and Sexuality StudiesCall Number: RG 16.30Link leads to finding aid for print collection; collection has not been digitized. The department first offered an interdisciplinary minor beginning in 1983, as Women's Studies, and expanded through the 1990s. Collection materials include course listings and materials, memorandums, symposium agendas, department newsletters, and two volumes of bean, a literary journal.
- Gay Straight Student Alliance recordsCall Number: RG8.22Link leads to finding aid for print collection; collection has not been digitized. This collection contains materials documenting GSSA's work. Items include a petition from the Student Association for Equality protesting Wake Forest University's decision to deny a same-sex union from occurring on campus, newspaper clippings describing the controversy, a timeline about the GSSA, award plaques, a t-shirt, resources, and brochures.
- Office of the Provost. LGBTQ+ Center RecordsCall Number: RG 22.3Link leads to finding aid for print collection; collection has not been digitized. The LGBTQ+ Center was established in 2011 to serve the needs of Wake Forest's LGBTQ+ students. This collection contains documents pertaining to the LGBTQ+ Center, including news clippings, brochures, correspondence, conference, and promotional materials.
- Office of the Chaplain. Edgar Douglas Christman and Jean Sholar Christman PapersCall Number: RG 39.32.1Link leads to finding aid; collection has not been digitized. Edgar Douglas Christman was a Wake Forest University alumnus (1950, 1953 LS) and long-time University Chaplain. Christman was Chaplain when Wendy Scott and Susan Parker requested to hold their union ceremony at Wait Chapel, and therefore materials in this collection reference related controversy. Highlights: Same-sex ceremony materials (Box 2, 18, 21, 27),
- Office of the President, Thomas K. Hearn, Jr.Call Number: RG1.12The collection documents Hearn's time as President of Wake Forest University, 1983-2005. The collection has not been digitized; link leads to finding aid.
- University Archives Photograph CollectionCall Number: RG10.1Link leads to digitized collection; not all photos have been digitized. The finding aid for the entire collection is available at: https://wakespace.lib.wfu.edu/handle/10339/39540
- University Archives Vertical FilesCall Number: RG15Link leads to the finding aid that can be keyword searched; collection has not been digitized. Vertical files consist of newspaper clippings, published and unpublished documents, and other materials about specific subjects related to WFU history.
Highlights: Student Union events calendars (Box 44), women's athletics materials (varied), and LGBTQ Center (Box 113). - Student Clubs RecordsCall Number: RG8.56Link leads to finding aid; collection has not been digitized. WFU has 243 student clubs and organizations as of 2018, managed by the Office of Student Engagement and the Student Organizations Board. The clubs and organizations range from sports-based, to religious, political, and cultural, to interest and ideology focused, as well as sororities and fraternities. Materials in this collection include promotional materials, such as stickers, fliers, and cards with meeting information.
Highlights
Evabelle Simmons
The first woman awarded a diploma from Wake Forest College in 1890. She attended as the daughter of faculty. Learn more here.
Summer School
In June 1927, the Board of Trustees admits women to professional schools and M.A. degree programs. Women participate during summer sessions and often enroll through nearby Meredith College.
WFC Admits Women
Wake Forest admits women as undergraduates in 1942 after the U.S. enters World War II. Beth Perry is considered the first woman to enroll; Lois Johnson becomes the first Dean of Women.
WGA Handbook 1950
Informational booklets from the Woman's Government Association with rules and regulations specific to women students at Wake Forest. See Regulations for Coeds and Social Standards (page 17-21 in screen reader).
Bill on Homophobia
Old Gold and Black headline (December 1986) reflects student legislature defeat of resolution that would have condemned homophobia. The bill had been approved previously by the student relations committee.
Secondary Sources
- WFU Timeline
Timeline of events in WFU history from its beginnings in 1834 to the present.
- History of Wake Forest College, Volume IV, 1943-1967
Also available in print: LD5721 W52 P3 1935 vol. 4
- History of Wake Forest University, Volume V, 1967-1983
Also available in print: LD5721.W52 P3 2010 vol. 5
- The History of Wake Forest University, Volume VI, 1983-2005
Also available in print: LD5721.W52 P3 2010 vol. 6
Student Theses:
- "An Oral History of Gay and Lesbian Activism at WFU 1985 to 2000." (2017)
- "Having Pride: Improving the Campus Climate for Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Students at WFU." (1998)
- "Success of Two Support Groups in Meeting the Needs of Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Students at One Private, Southeastern University: Confidentiality vs. Visibility." (1994)
- "A History of the Women's 'Greek' System at Wake Forest" by Urbach, Deborah (1993, undergraduate paper)
Related Subject Guides
LGBTQ at Wake Forest - Additional resources.
Insensitive and Discriminatory Content in Wake Forest’s Howler Yearbooks and Other Records - Sensitive content warning.
WFU Activism - Organized by time period.