Keep in mind at all times . . . .

• Technical innovation, information, and research can be in a variety of formats e.g. pre-print, patent, standards, scholarly article (literature review, scoping review, systematic review, simple article, etc.), book chapter, book, website, government technical report, encyclopedia, specialized encyclopedia, brochure, fact sheet, etc. etc.

• There isn’t a single database that includes every single resource type listed above. As a result, you will need to search a variety of different databases, tools, metasearch engine, etc. I’ve included 15 different research sessions I conducted in my first 3 years at Wake Forest. Notice, there are 3 that are end-of-life eg either no longer exist or are no longer supported at Wake Forest and 5 are completely new. https://drive.google.com/file/d/10BvVGRgftvvbfze5QsFoKxS-A7d1pZ4Y/view?usp=drivesdk

• You cannot be complacent and only learn a handful of databases and tools in order to achieve the necessary breadth and depth in your research area.  Don’t be one tool/database Teresa or Danny!

• As a life longer learner, be aware that most software companies use agile development where the interface and/or functionality of the tool may change month to month or even week to week. I was on LinkedIn one Wednesday night and learned that scite.ai was working on integrating functionality similar to elicit.org AND Concensus app.  https://www.linkedin.com/posts/jdenicelewis_research-ai-activity-6978549842125975552-kD5G?utm_source=share&utm_medium=member_ios

• These are the cool tools that I have played with in the past and the list continuest to grow!  https://docs.google.com/file/d/1QOjnFWVsQCbabDaLn46suYuC2ejrmbGN/edit?usp=docslist_api&filetype=msword

• Data and information can be presented in a variety of different ways. If you are researching a new field or topic of interest, you can use the ScienceDirect topic index https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics or even find a specialized encyclopedia on Google books. Google books will allow you to preview a book (for most books). Literally, search for encyclop* topic

  • encyclop* information literacy

  • https://www.google.com/search?tbm=bks&q=Encyclo*+information+literacy). 

• BEFORE you hit the proverbial wall, ask a librarian. 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License