Introduction & Organization
We have organized suggested resources around three key areas of inquiry related to this project:
Revenue Projections: Questions related to income potential, rental market trends, and occupancy. Examples:
- What is the average rental rate per square foot for multifamily units in this area?
- What are the historical occupancy rates for comparable properties in Winston-Salem?
- Are there any recent or expected demographic changes in the area that might affect demand for multifamily housing?
Operating Expenses: Questions regarding costs associated with managing and maintaining a multifamily property. Examples:
- What are the average property management costs for multifamily developments in similar urban areas?
- What are the projected maintenance and repair costs based on comparable properties?
- How do utility costs in this area impact the overall operating expenses of similar developments?
Social Impact: Questions focused on community value, housing demand, and broader economic impact. Examples:
- What is the current demand for affordable housing units in this area, and how does this project address that need?
- How might this development contribute to local economic growth (e.g., job creation, increased patronage of local businesses)?
- Are there specific community needs or concerns (e.g., traffic, environment) that should be considered?
Resources that are bolded are ZSR Library databases and may require you to log-in using your WFU credentials.
Revenue Projections:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowProvides extensive reports on 300 industries and numerous companies. Includes size, trends, market share, descriptions of key participants and more. Coverage: Details not available
- Business Journals This link opens in a new windowYou will need to create an account using your WFU email to access to all Business Journals including the Greensboro/Triad Business Journal and Charlotte Business Journal. Find the latest breaking business news, updated throughout the day, this week's top stories, and other popular features from the print edition.
- BizMiner This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets. Uses include valuation, business plans, due diligence and competitive benchmarking.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes abstracts, indexing, and full text from international business periodicals like the Harvard Business Review. Also includes Datamonitor company profiles. Coverage: 1886-
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Real Estate Weekly NewsWeekly Real Estate News covers the U.S. real estate and home finance industries and is written for industry professionals. It includes weekly news, trends, analysis and profiles of industry leaders.
- Winston Salem Regional Association of Realtors: Carolina Core Housing Summit StudyOne of the most important issues facing our region is the lack of available housing across all price points. The Carolina Core Housing Summit was held September 27, 2024 at High Point University in High Point, NC. At the summit, results of the comprehensive housing study, which encompasses all 21 counties within the Carolina Core region, were unveiled.
- Commercial Real Estate Market ResearchThe commercial real estate research reports provide timely market updates, case-studies on various vacant space conversions, measurement of foreign investment, and more.
- Commercial Real Estate Development Association (NAIOP): Economic Impact of Commercial Real Estate by StateAn annual NAIOP Research Foundation study measures the valuable contribution to GDP, salaries and wages generated and jobs supported from the development and operations of commercial real estate.
- Commercial Real Estate Development Association (NAIOP) Research ReportsNAIOP’s latest research reports address how real properties, particularly office, industrial and mixed-use properties, impact and benefit communities throughout North America.
The Essential Guide to Corporate Real Estate by Publication Date: 2015Primer on the profession of corporate real estate.
Real Estate Economics by Publication Date: 2013Real Estate Economics: A point-to-point handbook introduces the main tools and concepts of real estate (RE) economics. It covers areas such as the relation between RE and the macro-economy, RE finance, investment appraisal, taxation, demand and supply, development, market dynamics and price bubbles, and price estimation. It balances housing economics with commercial property economics, and pays particular attention to the issue of property dynamics and bubbles - something very topical in the aftermath of the US house-price collapse that precipitated the global crisis of 2008.
Operating Expenses
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides data, statistics, and reports on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Add-ons include: Consumer Insights, providing increased data and analytics on consumer attitudes and behavior worldwide and eCommerce Insights, providing increased data and analytics on the eCommerce landscape including customer behavior and digital market insights.
- Commercial Real Estate Development (NAIOP) Sentiment IndexThe NAIOP Sentiment Index is designed to predict general conditions in the commercial real estate industry over the next 12 months by asking industry professionals to predict conditions for their own projects and markets.
- U.S. Department of Housing (HUD) Comprehensive Housing Market AnalysesHUD's Economic and Market Analysis Division prepares Comprehensive Housing Market Analyses that assist and guide HUD in its operations. The factual information, findings, and conclusions contained in the reports could also be useful to builders, mortgagees, and others concerned with local housing conditions and trends.
- National Association of Realtors (NAR) Commercial Real Estate Metro Market ReportsTo help REALTORS® and other housing market analysts get the most out of the plethora of data that is available, NAR Research produces a series Commercial Real Estate Metro Market Reports which provide insights into the fundamentals and direction of the nation's largest metropolitan commercial real estate. Each report evaluates a number of factors affecting the market, including indicators on the economic and demographic conditions of a metro area and commercial market indicators on net absorption, vacancy rates, rent, deliveries, inventory, total sales volume, and cap rates based on CoStar® market data.
Real Estate Development by Publication Date: 2013Ideal for anyone new to real estate development, the fourth edition of this bestselling book covers each stage of the process step by step, explaining the basics of idea conception, feasibility, planning, financing, market analysis, contract negotiation, construction, marketing, and asset management. Thoroughly updated, the book includes material on financing and marketing.
Multifamily Housing Development Handbook by Publication Date: 2014This authoritative resource explains best practices, techniques, and trends in multifamily housing developments.
Real Estate Due Diligence by Publication Date: 2018Due diligence is the bedrock of real estate deals, regardless of the volume of transaction. This book presents a comprehensive guide to understanding and implementing due diligence, laid out in a comprehensive form that covers all the major aspects of real estate due diligence: legal, tax, financial and technical issues.
Real Estate Investment by Publication Date: 2012This book fills a gap in the existing resources available to students and professionals requiring an academically rigorous, but practically orientated source of knowledge about real estate finance. The focus is primarily on the valuation of leased properties such as apartment buildings, office buildings, retail centers, and warehouse space, rather than on owner occupied residential property.
Real Estate Analysis by Publication Date: 2023Real Estate Analysis: A Financial Toolkit presents economic and financial models, applications and insights, packaged as a toolkit for analysts and other participants in commercial and residential real estate markets who seek to extend their insights into the measurement, performance and drivers of these markets.
Social Impact
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowMap thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Coverage limited to the United States. Coverage: Details not available
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowA U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer allows users to visually explore demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data. The site includes data from the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey to 2008, and other data sets.
- Simmons Insights This link opens in a new windowSimmons Insights includes advanced reporting analytics, data visualizations, and business intelligence applications with comprehensive profiling that enable clients to build proprietary data dashboards and custom analyses. Five concurrent users may access Simmons Insights.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports across all major subject areas.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes abstracts, indexing, and full text from international business periodicals like the Harvard Business Review. Also includes Datamonitor company profiles. Coverage: 1886-
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Understanding Affordability by ISBN: 9781529211887Publication Date: 2020Written by two distinguished housing economists, this ambitious book tackles one of the most important socio-economic issues facing households today. Drawing from theoretical and empirical frameworks, the authors challenge conventional wisdoms in housing economics and policy and offer innovative recommendations to improve housing affordability.
Sustainability in Commercial Real Estate Markets by Publication Date: 2015Alexander Reichardt provides pertinent information on the business case for sustainable buildings, which offer a large potential to abate climate change, which can be achieved at relatively affordable costs compared to other industries. He discusses- although sustainable space offers verifiable advantages to tenants like lower operating expenses, higher employee productivity and reputation benefits -, the small empirical evidence that tenants indeed pay a rent premium for leasing this space.
