HST 324: Fashion in the 18th Century

Collection of 17th and 18th century English newspapers and news pamphlets. Published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India. Includes page images.
Coverage: 1604-1804.

A collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.

Accessible Archives contains diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture. ZSR has purchased South Carolina Newspapers and the Virginia Gazette.

Searchable database of hundreds of historical newspapers. WFU access includes both the Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876) and African-American Newspapers (1827-1998).

Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. Articles, advertisements, and illustrations are included.

Searchable full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Coverage: 1680s-1930s.

Module V makes available the entire run of The Lady’s Magazine from 1770 until 1832, along with a number of other contemporary and often rather shorter-lived periodicals that sought specifically to engage the minds and ease the purse-strings of women. Use the Lady's Magazine Index to search within that specific publication.

As the "world's newspaper of record," the Times (of London) has covered major world events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. Coverage from 1785-2010.

The ARTstor Digital Library provides images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Comprises contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Images form ARTstor are for noncommercial educational or scholarly use only. Images may be used in educational or scholarly presentations, including printed handouts, but may not be otherwise distributed or publicly displayed.

Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Includes over 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. Contains manuscript and printed material, from not only British but also French, Dutch, Spanish, North American and other points of view. Coverage: 1400s-present.

Includes full-text of all known existing books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the Thirteen Colonies or the United States between 1689-1800. Does not include periodicals or newspapers.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Log in as a WFU user to get access to downloadable PDFs of public domain items.

HCPP includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women in 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Digital collection of pamphlets published 1774-1776 and relating to the American Revolution. These pamphlets were originally collected by Peter Force (1790-1868), a printer and mayor of Washington, D.C., and published in a 9- volume set called the American Archives.

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.

Subject guides and digitized materials (some require institutional subscription)

Digitized collections from throughout British History from the Bodleian Library at Oxford University.

The Library of Congress has made digitized versions of collection materials available online since 1994, concentrating on its most rare collections and those unavailable anywhere else. This link pulls up a list of collections with materials dating between 1700-1799. Collections include broadsides, maps, documents from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention, and papers of Washington, Jefferson, Madison, and others.

A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.