Article Databases
The databases listed below may help you find and get access to newspaper articles, magazines articles, and scholarly journal articles about your topic. But how do you get started?
1. Choose keywords that describe your topic and consider how different authors might describe the same topic. For example: (Indian OR "Native American") AND (slave OR slavery)
2. Use the tools provided by the database to narrow your search by date, document type, and more.
3. Read the abstract or summary of the article to decide if it is relevant to your topic. If it is, make sure to save it! ZSR recommends saving it to Zotero (which will also help you cite it later in your paper!).
Need help? Ask a librarian!
Tips for Searching Article Databases
The databases listed below may help you find and get access to newspaper articles, magazines articles, and scholarly journal articles about your topic. But how do you get started?
1. Choose keywords that describe your topic and consider how different authors might describe the same topic. For example: (Indian OR "Native American") AND (slave* OR enslav*) As you search, make note of other keywords being used to describe your topic.
2. Use the tools provided by the database to narrow your search by date, document type, and more.
3. Read the abstract or summary of the article to decide if it is relevant to your topic. If it is, make sure to save it! ZSR recommends saving it to Zotero (which will also help you cite it later in your paper!).
Need help? Ask a librarian!
SCHOLARLY JOURNAL DATABASES
- America History and LifeAmerica: History and Life provides abstracts and citations from reviews and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the earliest recorded times to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450 -- except the U.S. and Canada. Also contains trade publications in history, such as History Today.
- JSTORJSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that provides historical coverage for scholarly journals, many all the way back to the first issue, as well as British pamphlets. JSTOR searches the full text of every article, so remember to put phrases in quotations to keep terms together. You can narrow your search further by using the subject areas below the search boxes.
- Project MUSEProvides access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities and social sciences.
GENERAL DATABASES (BOTH SCHOLARLY & POPULAR CONTENT)
- ProQuest Research LibrarySearches across all ProQuest article databases. Contains articles covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Databases include Research Library, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Religion.
- Academic Search PremierProvides abstracts, indexing, and full-text for journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, and more.
Course Guide
