Article Databases
The databases listed below may help you find and get access to newspaper articles, magazines articles, and scholarly journal articles about your topic. But how do you get started?
1. Choose keywords that describe your topic and consider how different authors might describe the same topic. For example: (Greece OR Greek) AND (debt OR "debt crisis" OR bailout)
2. Use the tools provided by the database to narrow your search by date, document type, and more.
3. Read the abstract or summary of the article to decide if it is relevant to your topic. If it is, make sure to save it! ZSR recommends saving it to Zotero (which will also help you cite it later in your paper!).
Need help? Ask a librarian!
SCHOLARLY JOURNAL DATABASES
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that provides historical coverage for scholarly journals, many all the way back to the first issue, as well as British pamphlets. JSTOR searches the full text of every article, so remember to put phrases in quotations to keep terms together. You can narrow your search further by using the subject areas below the search boxes.
GENERAL DATABASES (BOTH SCHOLARLY & POPULAR CONTENT)
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowContains articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals. Areas included: business, health, education, psychology, science, sports, and literature. Coverage: 1986-
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, and more. Good general-purpose database for researching most topics. Coverage: 1985-
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of scholarly journals and books in the arts and humanities and social sciences. Coverage: Varies
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new windowCombines overviews, viewpoints, reference, news, and scholarly material into one search platform for researching a wide variety of global issues.
Course Guide
Kathy Shields
she/her
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, American History, Area Studies, East Asian Studies, Ethnic Studies, History - General, Latin American & Latino Studies, Medieval & Early Modern Studies, Middle East & South Asia Studies, Primary Sources, Psychology, Russian & East European Studies, Social Sciences - General, World History