Research Guides: Costume History Research Resources: Article Databases

Finding Journal Articles

If you are looking for scholarly/peer-reviewed/academic articles look for these features:

at least 8-10 pages in length
author is an academic (professor, PhD, researcher, etc...), or in some cases a practitioner (costume or set designer, wig maker, director, etc...)
published in an academic journal (Costume, Fashion Theory, etc...)
the bibliography is appropriate for the article length

The following databases are good places to look for scholarly research:

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text. Coverage: 1864-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of archived issues of academic journals. Since JSTOR is a backfiles project, a typical coverage range is the beginning of a journal until three or five years ago. Supported in part by the Dail Endowment Fund. Coverage: Varies
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of scholarly journals and books in the arts and humanities and social sciences. Coverage: Varies
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Search for articles about the history and culure of the United States and Canada. Publications include peer-reviewed journals, magazines, dissertations, books, and more. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Note: For world history topics, use the Historical Abstracts database. Coverage: 1964-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals and other periodicals and magazines covering the humanities including art, classics, history, literature, philosophy and more. Coverage: 1975-
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and citations for scholarly journals articles, magazines, exhibition reviews, and trade publications. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals. Topics covered include antiques, archaeology, art, art history, architecture, folk art, graphic arts, interior and landscape design, movies, and television. Also includes an image collection. Coverage: 1929-
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journals concerning Europe and the Middle East from 400-1700. Coverage: 1784-