Costume History Reference Resources
Use Reference Resources to get background information on your topic, including historical overviews, terminology, timelines, and images. Many of these sources include bibliographies which list additional books and journal articles that would be useful for further research on the topic.
Reference materials are available in three locations:
- the Reference Department on Wilson 4 (REF call numbers)
- in the Main Stacks (regular call number)
- online (ebook or link)
These are selections from the available resources:
- Berg Fashion LibraryAn online reference database which includes the full text of the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, over 13,000 color images, and more than 100 academic fashion history ebooks.
Clothing and Fashion: American Fashion from Head to ToeCall Number: ebookISBN: 9781610693103Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: ebook & GT507 E53 2005ISBN: 0684313944Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Call Number: ebook & GT507 E54 2010ISBN: 9780195377330Publication Date: 2010Each volume covers a different region of the world.
The Complete Costume Dictionary by Call Number: ebook & GT507 L49 2011ISBN: 9780810840041Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles, C. 450-1450 by Call Number: REF GT732 E53 2012ISBN: 9789004124356Publication Date: 2012
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Designers by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780500203132Publication Date: 2007
Contemporary Fashion by Call Number: ebook & TT505 A1 C66 2002ISBN: 9781558623484Publication Date: 2002More than 400 designers, milliners, footwear designers, companies and textile houses are featured in this lavishly illustrated, hardbound reference book. Entries are listed alphabetically and contain the following critical elements: biographical summary; primary and secondary bibliography, including articles and exhibition catalogs; and a signed, critical essay by an expert in the field.
Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry by Call Number: ebook & TT494 S84 2017ISBN: 9781442239081Publication Date: 2017Esquire's Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Men's Fashions by
Call Number: REF TT617 S36ISBN: 0070554803Publication Date: 1973-10-01
Fashion Fads Through American History: Fitting Clothes into Context by Call Number: ebook & GT605 M66 2016ISBN: 9781610699020Publication Date: 2015
Ethnic Dress in the United States by Call Number: ebook & GT605 E35 2015ISBN: 9780759121508Publication Date: 2014
Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-Up and Wigs by Call Number: PN2067 J69 2000 (main stacks)ISBN: 0415247748Publication Date: 2000
Fashion and Costume in American Popular Culture by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780313033261Publication Date: 1996
Contemporary Photographers by Call Number: ebook & TR139 C66 1995ISBN: 1558621903Publication Date: 1995
American Decades Series by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780787650766Each decade of the 20th century has a volume, and each volume includes a section on fashion of the time.- Gale Virtual Reference LibrarySeveral hundred reference sources from a variety of disciplines.
Theatre Reference Resources
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780199574193Publication Date: 2010
The Routledge Companion to Theatre and Performance by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781315779010Publication Date: 2014
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0826466745Publication Date: 2010
International Dictionary of Theatre by Call Number: ebook & PN2035 I49 1992ISBN: 1558620974v.1: Plays
v.2: Playwrights
v.3: Actors, Directors, and Designers
Dictionary of the Theatre by Call Number: REF PN2035 P2913 1998ISBN: 0802081630Publication Date: 1999-02-05
Critical Survey of Drama by Call Number: PN1625 C68 2003 (main stacks)ISBN: 1587651025Publication Date: 20038 volumes
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0231140320Publication Date: 2007
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre by Call Number: REF PN1861 W67 1994ISBN: 0415059283v.1: Europe
v.2: The Americas
v.3: Africa
v.4: The Arab World (+ebook)
v.5: Asia/Oceania (+ebook)
v.6: Bibliography, Cumulative Index
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780826466747Publication Date: 2006
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre by Call Number: REF PN2921 L45 2014ISBN: 9781442239104Publication Date: 2014
The A to Z of Japanese Literature and Theatre by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781461731887Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Companion to Australian Literature by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780511998911Publication Date: 2006
The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature: Volume 1 by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781139054638Publication Date: 2008-03-28
