Encyclopedias
Oxford Music Online
(available on our “Databases” page)
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
(available on our “Databases” page)
New Grove Dictionary of American Music
(we have print and e-book)
Encyclopedia of African American Music
(e-book)
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
(we have print and e-book)
Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India
(e-book)
Research Guides
Post, Jennifer C. Ethnomusicology: a guide to research.
Schuursma, Ann Briegleb. Ethnomusicology research: a select annotated bibliography.
Nidel, Richard. World music: the basics.
Websites, Scholarly Associations, and Research Collections
Books in series
Look up these series titles in the Library's catalog:
Garland library of readings in ethnomusicology
Global music series ("Experiencing music, expressing culture") (Oxford Univ. Press)
World music atlas
Greenwood encyclopedia of Black music
Journals
Indexes:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (available on our "Databases" page)
Unless otherwise indicated, the following are available on our "Journals" page:
Ethnomusicology:
Ethnomusicology
Bulletin of the International Council for Traditional Music
Yearbook for Traditional Music
Ethnomusicology Online (EOL)
British Journal of Ethnomusicology
Galpin Society Journal (instruments)
Folk music:
Folk Music Journal
Sing Out! (folk music)
Folklore:
Southern Folklore
Regional studies:
Journal of the Society for American Music
American Music Research Center Journal
Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society
Latin American Music Review
New directions: Readings in African Diaspora Music (indexed in RILM; articles available through interlibrary loan)
Black Music Research
Black Perspectives in Music (indexed in RILM; articles available through interlibrary loan)
Asian Music: Journal of the Society for Asian Music
Chinese Music (indexed in RILM; articles available through interlibrary loan)
Sruti: South Indian Classical Music and Dance Monthly (indexed in RILM; articles available through interlibrary loan)
Journal of Jewish Music and Liturgy (indexed in RILM; articles available through interlibrary loan)
Sound Recordings and Videos
Databases (streaming audiovisual)
The following contain field recordings, studio recordings of traditional music, or documentary films. They're available on our "Databases" page:
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Music Online: American Music
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
Filmakers Library Online
Kanopy Video
Films on Demand
Databases (Images of instruments, etc.)
ArtStor
CAMIO
Discographies and videographies
Search these in the Library's catalog by combining names of specific countries or genres of music with the term "discography" or "video catalog":
blues discography Subject
china discography Subject
Individual recordings and videos in the Library
To find these in the Library's catalog, use these searching tips. Use the sidebar to limit to "Audio" or "Video."
Video anthologies and series
Look up these series titles in the Library's catalog:
JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance
Discovering music series
Record labels
Some well-known ethnomusicological record labels that you can look up in the Library's catalog:
Dissertations
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (a general index, available on the Library's "Databases" page)
Gillis, Frank. Ethnomusicology and folk music: an international bibliography of dissertations and theses.
Related Areas
The study of traditional music will lead you into many other fields, including anthropology, sociology, area studies, literature, folklore, the other arts, and history:
