Skip to main content

Finding Music in ZSR Library: STILL CAN'T FIND IT?

Still can't find it?

It might be in a collection.

Shorter works like songs, instrumental solo pieces, etc., are often published in collections (songbooks, anthologies, CD albums). To locate a work that might be in such a collection, try the strategies described for "Short works" and "Works with opus numbers" under Classical Music.

 

Try the composer’s collected edition.

See the tips below.

Composers' Collected Editions

For many composers, their complete works have been published in a single scholarly edition (called a collected edition).

In these editions, the variant readings in the primary sources are shown, either in the main volumes or in separate supplementary volumes.

Some of these editions are still in progress, so you may find that a specific work has not yet been published in the composer’s collected edition.

 

Finding a composer’s collected edition

To identify any collected edition(s) that may have been published for a composer, look up the composer's worklist in Oxford Music Online (available on our "Databases" page). The composer's collected edition(s) will be cited at the top of the worklist. (Foreign terms you may see that mean "collected edition": WerkeSamtliche WerkeGesamtausgabe,  Opere, Oeuvres.)

To see if ZSR Library owns a composer’s collected edition, see the following list:

http://guides.zsr.wfu.edu/composers-collected-editions

This provides links to the Library’s catalog record. There, you can find out:

  • If an online version is available, and click a link to it.
  • If we have a print copy in the ZSR building. Composers’ collected editions are shelved under the call number M3, alphabetically by composer.
  • If we have a print copy housed offsite. In the catalog record, you'll find a link to request delivery. (We can deliver same day.)

 

Finding a specific work in a composer’s collected edition

You can do this several different ways:

Check the composer's worklist in Oxford Music Online (available on our "Databases" page). For each work, the volume number in the collected edition is given.

Online versions will have their own hyperlinked table of contents.

Or, consult the following separately-published indexes, shelved in the Reference room:

  • Collected editions, historical series & sets & monuments of music: a bibliography. Compiled by George R. Hill. Call number: Ref ML113 H55 1997.
  • Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music: a guide to their contents. Compiled by Anna Harriet Heyer. Call number: Ref ML113 .H52 1980.

 

Websites that contain composers' collected editions

Subject Guide

Leslie McCall's picture
Leslie McCall
Contact:
Office: 251 ZSR Library
Phone: 336-758-5474
Need help? Chat with us