DOI Resolver
Do you have the DOI (direct object identifier) for the resource (article, book chapter, or book) and need to locate it online? Resolve the DOI name at https://www.doi.org/ and it will take you directly to the the current URL.
Other Sources
Sources that do not undergo a "peer review" process are not typically considered as an academic resources are listed below... They can however be used as a starting point for your research. Be sure to verify any information obtained from these resources using reliable library sources.
- Websites
- Wikipedia
- Newspaper/magazine articles
Intro to databases
These database sources are your best bets for finding biology related literature. Click on any link to take you directly to the database homepage.
Sources
- ZSR Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowData about the books, journals, films, manuscripts, and other materials owned by the ZSR Library. Coverage: 14th century-
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowProvded by CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society, this database includes reference, substance, reaction and supplier content as well as relevance-ranked answer sets, step-by-step procedures and protocols, biosequence searching, retrosynthesis planning, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing. Users can now log into SciFinder with their WFU username and password. If you have an existing SciFinder account associated with your WFU email address, you will still have access to all of your saved searches and other data when you log in.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowContains three ISI Citation Databases (Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index), plus Biological Abstracts, Emerging Sources Citation Index, MEDLINE (PubMed), and the SciELO Citation Index. Provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage: 1945-
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitation database with access to MEDLINE covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services include the Journal Browser, MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) Browser, Citation Matcher, and Clinical Queries. Coverage: 1946-
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes Biochemistry and Biology, Business & Management, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Mathematics & Computer science, Medicine & Pharmacology, Neurosciences, Physics, Social Sciences. Coverage: varies
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Areas of focus include science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowMultipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. All articles are indexed using Elsevier's Life Science Thesaurus, Embase Indexing, and Emtree.
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowBiological journals covering biology, ecology, and environment with specific emphasis on systematics, botany, mammalogy, plant science, conservation biology, toxicology, agronomy, ornithology, limnology, and taxonomy. Coverage: 2000-
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations & abstracts from international life sciences journals. Fields covered include: biology, botany, zoology, biotechnology, and environmental studies. Coverage: 1980-
- ProQuest Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text journals covering biology topics. Coverage: 1998-
- JoVE Biology This link opens in a new windowContains general biology research methodologies in all fields of cell, molecular, and organismal biology and includes new applications of standard techniques and approaches aimed at understanding the functions of life and living organisms. Inlcudes techniques in physical & systems biology, cellular biochemistry, genetics, physiology, and a combination of eukaryotic & prokaryotic model systems.
Librarian
Colleen Foy
she/her
Using Credible Sources in Biology
- Using Credible SourcesBartee L, Shriner W, & Creech C. (2017) Principles of Biology. Open Oregon Educational Resources.