Welcome
This research guide is designed for students doing research for the senior seminar India and the Changing International Order (Fall 2024). Use the tabs along the top edge of this box to locate directions for the various resource types. If you run into any obstacles, don't hesitate to schedule an appointment with me! ~ Rosalind Tedford
News and Journals
Video Resources
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection of award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Coverage: Details not available
- Films on Demand - Master Academic Package This link opens in a new windowContains videos in business, economics, health, medicine, humanities, social sciences, science and mathematics. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video collection provides a range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. Covers subjects from science, history, art, Shakespeare, diversity, business & economics, and more.
- Kanopy Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video platform for libraries that offers films, TV shows, and documentaries across mutliple subject areas.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowAcademic streaming library of feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios, including Walt Disney, Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more. ZSR subscribes to the 1000 most popular titles and has licensed a few others for campus.
Best Bets and Starting Points
If you need somewhere to begin your research, here are some of the best bets for finding context for your research topic!
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOverviews of research and trends and background information in the Social Sciences and Humanities. WFU access includes the following subject collections: Asian Studies; Communication, Journalism, Media & Culture; Environment & Sustainability; Law; Philosophy; Politics; Religion; Security Studies; and Sociology.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science This link opens in a new windowEach handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explains the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and describes how those debates might evolve. The handbooks offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to the scholarship that defines the field.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes a topic finder for help with narrowing or broadening your research topic. Coverage: varies
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes subject trees, pro/con resources, links to scholarly articles and more.
Finding Books
Use the library's online catalog to locate books, films, and other materials in the library.
- India* AND politic*
- Democracy AND India*
- India* AND pakistan*
- India* AND wom*n
LC Call Number Ranges for Contemporary India
- DS401-(486.8) India - History
- JQ200-620: Political Institutions and Public Administration India
- KNS1-KNU: Law - India
- Other call numbers may be relevant depending on your topic....
Scholarly Journal Databases in Political Science (and related disciplines)
The databases below are the ones most frequently used by students doing political science research. The list starts with the politics-specific databases but also lists the many databases we have in related disciplines that often contain relevant sources. Politics is a very interdisciplinary thing, so looking at other databases is often very useful!
Databases for General International Politics and Government
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, full-text doctoral dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. This link cross searches ProQuest Political Science Database, PAIS Index, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Coverage: 1985-
- HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals including international law and policy.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
Databases for International Military and Security Issues
- ProQuest Military Database This link opens in a new windowThe Military Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full text from military and general interest publications including government offices, journals, think tanks and more. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military. Coverage: 1985-
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFocused on strategy and policy in the various subject areas of homeland security research. Sources of information include governmental departments and agencies, academic institutions, think tanks, conference sites, non-governmental organizations, institutes and organizations, and other entities. Coverage: Details not available
- JSTOR Security Studies This link opens in a new windowContains journals, ebooks, and Open Access research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
Databases for International Policy and Issues
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFor political communication, Internet and/or Social Media, news, rhetoric and more.
- Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowprovides access to current full text and backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. Coverage: 1992-
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowFor criminal justice, incarceration, international criminal justice, etc.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowFor international economic research, political economy, foreign aid and development, etc.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironmental policy, climate change, climate refugees, climate treaties, climate and trade, etc.
- ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Subject Guide
Other Research Librarians
If Rosalind is not available, these other ZSR librarians can help you with research for this class. The links below take you to their online calendars.