Intro to databases
These database sources are your best bets for finding scientific literature. Click on any link to take you directly to the database homepage.
Sources
- ZSR Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowData about the books, journals, films, manuscripts, and other materials owned by the ZSR Library. Coverage: 14th century-
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, and more. Good general-purpose database for researching most topics. Coverage: 1985-
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowContains three ISI Citation Databases (Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index), plus Biological Abstracts, Emerging Sources Citation Index, MEDLINE (PubMed), and the SciELO Citation Index. Provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage: 1945-
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitation database with access to MEDLINE covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services include the Journal Browser, MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) Browser, Citation Matcher, and Clinical Queries. Coverage: 1946-
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes Biochemistry and Biology, Business & Management, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Mathematics & Computer science, Medicine & Pharmacology, Neurosciences, Physics, Social Sciences. Coverage: varies
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Areas of focus include science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowMultipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. All articles are indexed using Elsevier's Life Science Thesaurus, Embase Indexing, and Emtree.
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowBiological journals covering biology, ecology, and environment with specific emphasis on systematics, botany, mammalogy, plant science, conservation biology, toxicology, agronomy, ornithology, limnology, and taxonomy. Coverage: 2000-
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations & abstracts from international life sciences journals. Fields covered include: biology, botany, zoology, biotechnology, and environmental studies. Coverage: 1980-
- ProQuest Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text journals covering biology topics. Coverage: 1998-
Undergraduate Research Journals
These journal sources are great places to start when searching for and / or publishing your undergraduate work. Click on any link to take you directly to the journal homepage or ZSR journal record.
Undergraduate Research Journals @ ZSR
- Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
From the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), JRME is the leading research journal in mathematics education and supports the interests of teachers and researchers from preschool through college. - The Journal of Undergraduate Research
Here undergraduates have the opportunity to publish their work in any academic subject. Research, poetry, reviews, and art are featured to showcase the scholarly power of undergraduate students. - Columbia Undergraduate Science Journal
Founded by students in 2006, the CUSJ remains a premier publication for original scientific research and reviews. Still managed by an undergraduate editorial board, the CUSJ covers a broad scope of multidisciplinary interests. - Intersect: The Stanford Journal of Science, Technology, and Society
Published online quarterly and is regularly cited in Google Scholar, Intersect is an open access journal providing research and scholarship on the social factors that shapes, underwrites, and/or inhibits research and invention.
Other Sources
Sources that do not undergo a "peer review" process are not typically considered as an academic resources are listed below... They can however be used as a starting point for your research. Be sure to verify any information obtained from these resources using reliable library sources.
- Websites
- Wikipedia
- Newspaper/magazine articles