ZSR Special Collections & Archives
ZSR's Special Collection and Archives may contain useful materials on your topic. There are a variety of ways to search these materials, depending on their format. Contact SCA for more help with searching the collection.
1. Search SCA materials (including books) in Primo. Limit your search to the Library Catalog and use the Location facet on the left side to limit to items in Special Collections (6th Floor).
2. Search SCA Digital Collections to locate items that have already been digitized. These include the Old Gold and Black newspaper, the Howler yearbook, and some rare books and manuscript collections.
3. Search SCA finding aids to locate unpublished materials in manuscript and archival collections that are not digitized. (Contact SCA at archives@wfu.edu for help using finding aids!)
Early published cookbooks in SCA
- A new system of domestic cookery : formed upon principles of economy, and adapted to the use of private families byCall Number: TX651 .R85 1807Publication Date: Boston : Andrews & Cummings, 1807
- Modern American cookery : containing directions for making soups, roasting, boiling, baking, dressing vegetables, poultry, fish ... & c., with a list of family medical recipes, and a valuable miscellany byCall Number: TX715 .S667 1835Publication Date: New York : Harper & Brothers, 1835
- The Virginia housewife; or, Methodical cook byCall Number: TX715 .R215 1838Publication Date: Baltimore : Plaskitt & Cugle, 1838
- The Virginia housewife; or, Methodical cook byCall Number: TX715 .R215 1846Publication Date: Philadelphia : E. H. Butler, 1846
- The Carolina housewife; or, House and home byCall Number: TX715 .C366 1847Publication Date: Charleston, S.C. : W. R. Babcock, 1847
- Cook and confectioner. The complete cook. Plain and practical directions for cooking and housekeeping; with upwards of seven hundred receipts ... byCall Number: TX715 .C759 1851Publication Date: Philadelphia : W.A. Leary & Co., 1851
Visiting SCA
SCA (Room 625, Reynolds Wing) is open 10:00am-4:00pm for walk-in visitors and researchers, Monday-Friday (and by appointment). Use the link above to request an appointment or contact archives@wfu.edu for more information.
Special Collections Librarian
Z. Smith Reynolds Library
Wake Forest University