Published Primary Sources
- A Book of Fruits & Flowers. Shewing The Nature and Use of them, either for Meat or Medicine.Call Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 1653
- The Queens closet opened. Incomparable secrets in physick, chirurgery, preserving, candying, and cookeryCall Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 1655
- The house-keeper's pocket-book and compleat family cook byCall Number: ONLINEPublication Date: 1739
Books
The Witchcraft Sourcebook by Call Number: ONLINE & PRINT: Main Stacks - Wilson wing, 1st floor ; BF1566 .W58 2014ISBN: 9781315715292Publication Date: 2016
Primary Source Collections
Helpful Blog and Archive Posts about Early Modern Recipe Books
- Clark Library: An Exhibition in Six Courses: Testing Recipes from the Clark's Manuscript CollectionPlay this Prezi presentation for an overview of the exhibition.
- The Cornell University Witchcraft CollectionThe Digital Witchcraft portion of this collection contains a selection of digitized English-language titles documenting the history of witchcraft, primarily in Europe.
Paleography
Digitized Recipe Books
Collections Available Through ZSR
- Early English Books Online - EEBO This link opens in a new windowFull text of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in England or in English between 1475 and 1700. Includes many of the items indexed in the English Short Title Catalogue. Corresponds to the Pollard and Redgrave, and Wing Short-Title Catalogues, as well as Thomason Tracts. Coverage: 1473-1700
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO This link opens in a new windowContains books, pamphlets and broadsides published in England or in English between 1701 and 1800. Includes many of the items indexed in the English Short Title Catalogue. Coverage: 1701-1800
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text seachable library of high-quality digitized materials such as books, articles, government information, and more from libraries around the world. Includes public domain and in-copyright content. Log in as a WFU user to download PDFs and access additional features. Coverage: Varies
Tips for Locating Primary Sources
Choose historically appropriate keywords. For example, use "Great War" instead of "World War I" to locate documents discussing the war during and just after it occurred. You may also consider different terms that might have been used to describe the same event from opposing sides or perspectives. Searching for the names of particular people or places may also be effective, but consider how the names might be presented (last name only, or as part of a title) and how country and city names have changed over time.
Think about what types of primary sources might have been produced that would be relevant to your topic; think also about which persons or organizations might have produced materials. Some possible types of sources:
| Books | Photographs and images |
| Magazine and newspaper articles | Cartoons and advertisements |
| Diaries and journals | Movies, videos, and DVDs |
| Memoirs and autobiographies | Audio recordings |
| Interviews | Public opinion polls |
| Letters | Fiction |
| Speeches | Research data and statistics |
| Documents produced by organizations | Documents produced by government agencies, including congressional hearings and census records |
To locate potential primary sources in the library's online catalog, Primo, look for subject headings that contain terms such as diaries, letters, correspondence, autobiography, interviews, or personal narratives following the main heading.