Research Guides: HST 105: Africa in World History: Article Databases

Scholarly Journal Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of archived issues of academic journals. Since JSTOR is a backfiles project, a typical coverage range is the beginning of a journal until three or five years ago. Artstor images are now integrated into JSTOR. Supported in part by the Dail Endowment Fund. Coverage: Varies
ProQuest Middle East & Africa Database This link opens in a new window
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Search for articles about the history and culure of the United States and Canada. Publications include peer-reviewed journals, magazines, dissertations, books, and more. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Note: For world history topics, use the Historical Abstracts database. Coverage: 1964-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of scholarly journals and books in the arts and humanities and social sciences. Coverage: Varies
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and citations for scholarly journals articles, magazines, exhibition reviews, and trade publications, covering antiques, art, art history, architecture, interior and landscape design, and more. Also includes an image collection. Coverage: Details not available

Tips for Searching Article Databases

The databases listed here may help you find and get access to newspaper articles, magazines articles, and scholarly journal articles about your topic. But how do you get started?

1. Choose keywords that describe your topic and consider how different authors might describe the same topic. For example: (women OR gender) AND patriarch* AND "east Africa"

2. Use the tools provided by the database to narrow your search by date, document type, and more.

3. Read the abstract or summary of the article to decide if it is relevant to your topic. If it is, make sure to save it! ZSR recommends saving it to Zotero (which will also help you cite it later in your paper!).

Need help? Ask a librarian!