Gathering Background Information
Use the background sources here, as well as other sources you might encounter, to gather information about your topic and consider what you still need to know before you start researching. You can use this information in searching for primary sources.
- Dates - Places - Names of persons involved - Names of organizations, government agencies, etc. - Names of particular laws or events
Background sources can also help you understand the larger historical context, so that you can determine what primary sources might be most useful or how a particular primary source fits into what was happening at that time.
Reference Sources
ONLINE REFERENCE COLLECTIONS
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowIncludes Cambridge History of Africa, Cambridge History of South Africa, and Cambridge History of Egypt, as well as related areas and historical periods.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes subject trees, pro/con resources, links to scholarly articles and more.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes a topic finder for help with narrowing or broadening your research topic. Coverage: varies
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of music worldwide, including composers, performers, other persons involved with music, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, institutions, and cities and towns with significant musical traditions. Coverage: Details not available
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of reference books in many subjects. Books can be searched together or individually. Coverage: varies
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: African Studies This link opens in a new windowIncludes topic overviews and lists of books related to that topic.
SELECTED REFERENCE BOOKS (ONLINE)
- UNESCO General History of AfricaIn 1964, UNESCO launched the elaboration of the General History of Africa with a view to remedy the general ignorance on Africa’s history. The challenge consisted of reconstructing Africa’s history, freeing it from racial prejudices ensuing from slave trade and colonization, and promoting an African perspective. Scroll to the bottom of the page to view the individual volumes.
The Cambridge History of Africa [8 Volumes] by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781139054553Publication Date: 2008-03-28
The Cambridge History of South Africa [2 volumes] by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780521517942Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of the Atlantic World, 1400-1900: Europe, Africa, and the Americas in an Age of Exploration, Trade, and Empires [2 Volumes]Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781610692564
The Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa by Call Number: Reference Department - Wilson 4th Floor DT2 .E53 1997ISBN: 0761989021Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African HistoryCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780415234795Publication Date: 2002
Using Subject Encyclopedias
Subject encyclopedias are a good starting point for researching a topic. The library provides access to hundreds of print and online encyclopedias. The articles in a subject encyclopedia are usually written by a scholar or expert in the field. Using subject encyclopedias at the beginning of your research can help you to define key terms to use in searching the library catalog and databases. Often these resources will include a list of references (books or journal articles) that you can use to identify other sources on your topic.
Course Guide
