Article Databases
FINDING ARTICLES: MULTI-DISCIPLINARY DATABASES
These databases contain scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and newspaper articles from the US and around the world. They are great for more recent topics. Keep in mind that they represent multiple disciplines, not just history, so you may have to add keywords that help focus your search.
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary database that contains journal articles as well as newspaper and magazine articles.
- Proquest CentralGeneral purpose database that covers multiple disciplines.
FINDING SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES
To locate ZSR holdings for a specific journal (or magazine or newspaper), search for the title in Find a Journal.
To search for scholarly articles on your topic, use the online databases listed below. Click on the PDF or linked full text to view the full article, or click on WFU Full Text Options to search our holdings for the article.
Remember, if we don't have a journal or article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan!
- Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450 -- except the U.S. and Canada.
- JSTORJSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that provides historical coverage for scholarly journals, many all the way back to the first issue, as well as British pamphlets. JSTOR searches the full text of every article, so remember to put phrases in quotations to keep terms together. You can narrow your search further by using the subject areas below the search boxes.
FINDING PERIODICALS
To locate a particular periodical, search for the title in Find a Journal. You will see options for both print and electronic access, if available.
- Times (of London) Digital ArchiveAs the "world's newspaper of record," the Times (of London) has covered major world events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. Coverage from 1785-2010.
- British PeriodicalsSearchable full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the 1680s to the 1930s.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersContains seven newspapers back to their first issues: New York Times (1851-3 years ago), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2002), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1950-2002) and Washington Post (1877-1997). Includes advertisements, illustrations, etc. as they were laid out on the original page.
- Japan Times ArchiveJapan Times materials from 1897-present.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day LifeNewspapers produced in internment camps by Japanese- Americans
