Oral Histories/Testimonies
- Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive This link opens in a new windowThe USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search and view video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996 and the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979.
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies This link opens in a new windowRecorded oral histories of testimonies of individuals first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Users must create an account and be on campus or VPN in order to access testimonies.
- Yad Vashem TestimoniesSearch and watch survivor testimonies from the World Holocaust Remembrance Center.
Documentary Histories
Documentary histories collect primary sources on a particular topic and also provide secondary analysis or essays to help the reader contextualize and understand their significance. To search for these types of works, put in a general keyword for your subject, and then search for "documentary history" OR "history in documents".
SELECTED RESOURCES
Pogroms: A Documentary History by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780190060084Publication Date: 2021-10-08
The Israel-Arab Reader: A Documentary History of the Middle East Conflict by Call Number: Main Stacks - Wilson wing, 1st floor; DS119.7 .I8256 2016ISBN: 9780143110057Publication Date: 2016-09-20
Published Sources
- ZSR Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowTo search for published materials held at ZSR, enter your keywords or subject headings into the search box and limit your date range to materials published before 1941. Note that dates may vary, as items may have originally been published pre-1941 and then reprinted later on. You may need to look in the source record for the original date of publication.
- Ralph S. Fraser Holocaust Collection (ZSR Special Collections and Archives)Special Collections & Archives materials on the Nazi Holocaust and the rise of anti-Semitism in Europe in the 19th and 20th centuries; purchased by the library with funds donated by Ralph S. Fraser.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowTo search beyond ZSR, use WorldCat to search the holdings of libraries around the world. Use the publication date limiter to limit items published pre-1941.
SELECTED RESOURCES
- The yellow spot : the outlawing of half a million human beings; a collection of facts and documents relating to three years persecution of German Jews, derived chiefly from National socialist sources, very carefully assembled by a group of investigators byCall Number: DS135.G33 Y38Publication Date: 1936
The Jews in Nazi Germany: a handbook of facts regarding their present situation. by Call Number: DS135.G33 J5 1982ISBN: 0865271100Publication Date: 1982, originally published 1935
News Sources
ZSR has access to several English-language news sources published during the 1930s and 1940s. Use secondary sources to help you identify specific date ranges to search, keywords, names, places, and other information that may aid your newspaper search. Note that words like "Holocaust" were likely not being used at the time the events were happening.
U.S.-BASED NEWS
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text searchable access to both U.S. and selected international historical newspapers, including: New York Times (1851-three years ago), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Washington Post (1877-2006), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Times of India (1838-2010), Korea Times (1956-2016), Irish Times and Weekly Irish Times (1859-2021), and the Chinese Historical Newspapers Collection (1832-1953). More recent issues may be available through other databases. Includes advertisements, illustrations, etc. as they were laid out on the original page. Coverage: Varies by publication.
EUROPEAN NEWS
- Times Digital Archive (1785-2014) This link opens in a new windowSearchable, full-text, page image access to the Times of London, sometimes called the "world's newspaper of record." Access goes back to the first issue.
- Historical Newspapers: The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2019)Explore nearly 150 years of the Emerald Isle’s turbulent history, rich culture, and complex political climate with The Irish Times (1859–2019) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876–1958).
- Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly magazine covering politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Coverage: 1843-2008
WORLD NEWS
- Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable access from 1897-2017 to the first English-language newspaper in Japan.
- Times of India (1838-2010) This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable, full-text, page image access. Founded in 1838 to serve the British residents of West India, The Times of India is now the largest English daily newspaper in the world. Access goes back to the first issue. Coverage: 1838-2010