Welcome
This research guide is designed for students doing research for classes that are investigating aspects of political economy.
Video Resources
- Filmmakers Library Online Streaming video collection of award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum - race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
- Films on Demand 17,000+ videos in business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- PBS Video Collection of streaming videos of series and documentaries from PBS.
- Kanopy Video Online Kanopy is a distributor of educational videos for online viewing. Content is available across multiple subject areas.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive Recordings of major US news broadcasts.
Web News Sources
Best Bets and Starting Points
If you need somewhere to begin your research, here are some of the best bets for finding context for your research topic!
- Global Issues in Context Covers a wider range of global issues from a variety of viewpoints. Includes new, magazine and academic sources.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - Political Science Online access to the Oxford Handbooks series in Political Science. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explains the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and describes how those debates might evolve. The handbooks offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to the scholarship that defines the field.
Finding Books
Why Books?
Books will always be your most comprehensive look at your topics. Use the library's online catalog to locate books, films, microforms, and other materials in the library. From the Guided Keyword tab, try searches like the following to find what you need:
- Swed* AND econom*
- Capitalism AND theory
- Argentin* AND econom* AND development
LC Call Number Ranges
- HBs - Economic Theory
- HCs - Economic History and Conditions
- JJs - Political institutions and public administration (North America)
- JKs - Political institutions and public administration (United States)
- JLs - Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
- JNs - Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
- JQs - Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
- JZs - International Relations
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
- Proquest Political Science/Worldwide Poitical Science Abstracts Abstracts and full-text of most political science journals.
- America History and Life America: History and Life provides abstracts and citations from reviews and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the earliest recorded times to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history. Coverage: 1964-. Format: Articles: Journals or Newspapers
- Environment Complete Provides coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, urban planning, and more.
- Hein Online Law Journal Library Contains the full text of over 300 academic legal periodicals. Coverage begins at the earliest issue for each journal.
- Historical Abstracts Historical Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada.
- PAIS (Public Affairs International) Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Includes PAIS Archive.
- ProQuest Military Collection Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more.
