MLA International Bibliography
Covers journal articles in the fields of literature and folklore more comprehensively than any other source. Also includes some linguistics. Also includes references to individual book chapters, which is an important way of publishing in this field. You might want to limit your search to English and Spanish. Go to the Advanced Search screen, and hold down the Ctrl (or Cmd) key while you select those two options.
Literature Resource Center
Has some literature criticism, but its best feature is the overviews of works.
ZSR Library Catalog
Best source for books.
ZSR Homepage Search
Good place to start when your topic is cross-disciplinary. Try using Spanish-language keywords to retrieve Spanish-language results.
Databases from Related Fields
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Two databases that cover all aspects of the medieval period. Many of the citations you'll find will overlap with MLA, but there is unique content as well. Go to the Advanced Search screen to limit by language (but these databases only let you limit by one language at a time).
Film and Television Literature Index
If your topic is film adaptations.
The most recent general Spanish-English dictionary is behind the Reference Desk (4th floor Wilson Wing, "Ask" sign).
Other Spanish dictionaries are shelved in PC—some in the Reference stacks; others in the Main Stacks. Besides basic dictionaries, specialty dictionaries cover topics like:
Grammars and older dictionaries are in the Main Stacks in PC (Reynolds 5).
A few special-topic dictionaries are shelved in other places, e.g. scientific terms in the Science section. To browse the entire collection, search the catalog for
Watch out for variant spellings of names of works, characters, etc.
Example: An article about One Hundred Years of Solitude may use the title Cien años de soledad, even if the article is in English.
Use a * to cut off a word at its stem, e.g. Mexic* retrieves Mexico, Mexican, mexicana, etc.
Type the word AND (or use the second row) if you want to enter more than one word that is not an exact phrase.
If you can't use a star to search for spelling variants, use OR
quixote or quijote
Some special MLA Style rules that are particularly relevant to Spanish:
[Page numbers refer to the MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition.]
Capitalize Spanish according to normal Spanish rules in your Works Cited (74).
Example: Como agua para chocolate but Like Water for Chocolate
See p. 66 of the Handbook for special rules regarding Spanish surnames in your Works Cited.
See p. 90-1 for advice on translating quotations. If someone else translated the quote, give them credit using parenthetical documentation. Use "my trans." if you translated the quote yourself.