Research Guides: HST 325: English Kings, Queens, and Spectacle: ZSR Special Collections

Using ZSR Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives is home to ZSR's Rare Books Collection, Manuscripts Collection, Wake Forest University Archives, and the North Carolina Baptist Historical Collection.

All of our collections are open to the public, and WFU students are particularly encouraged to make use of the wide variety of source material available in Special Collections & Archives.

A few things to remember if you're planning to incorporate our materials into your research projects:

SC&A's regular open hours are Monday-Friday, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Our collections are non-circulating and must be used in the Reading Room (ZSR 625). If you need to make multiple research visits, we will keep your materials on hold for you in the Reading Room.
Appointments are not required for WFU students using the Rare Books Collection, but you may wish to contact us in advance if you're requesting a large number of books or if you want to consult with a specific librarian. If you are requesting materials from the Manuscripts Collection or University Archives, you will need to make an appointment, since some of this material must be retrieved from offsite storaga. You can use our contact form for any questions or requests.
Please remember that no food or beverages (including water) are permitted in the SC&A Reading Room.

ZSR Special Collections materials: Elizabeth I, 1558-1603

The Secret History of the Most Renowned Q. Elizabeth and the E. of Essex. By a person of quality.
Call Number: DA356 .S44 1695

Publication Date: Cologne: Printed for Will with the Wist, at the Sign of the Moon in the Ecliptick, 1695.
Ecclesia restaurata, the history of the reformation of the Church of England : containing the beginning, progress, and successes of it; the counsels by which it was conducted; the rules of piety and prudence upon which it was founded, the several steps by by Heylyn, Peter, 1600-1662.
Call Number: folio BX5053 .H49 1674

Publication Date: London: Printed by R.B. for H. Twyford, J. Place, and T. Basset, 1674.
Cabala, sive Scrinia sacra, mysteries of state and government: in letters of illustrious persons and great ministers of state as well foreign as domestick, in the reigns of King Henry the Eight, Q: Elizabeth, K: James, and K: Charles: wherein such secrets
Call Number: folio DA370 .C28 1663

Publication Date: London: Printed for G. Bedell and T. Collins, 1663.

Contemporary owner's inscription and extensive manuscript notes at front.
The Faerie Queene. Disposed into Twelue Books, Fashioning XII. Morall Vertues. by Spenser, Edmund, 1552?-1599.
Call Number: PR2358 .A1 1590

Publication Date: London : Printed for William Ponsonbie, 1590.

ZSR Special Collections materials: James I, 1603-1625

The History of Great Britain, Being the Life and Reign of King James the First, Relating to what passed from his first Access to the Crown, till his Death. by Wilson, Arthur, 1595-1652.
Call Number: folio DA391 . W5

Publication Date: London: Printe dfor Richard Lownds, 1653.
The history of the life, reign, and death of Edward II, King of England and Lord of Ireland. With the rise and fall of his great favourites, Gaveston and the Spencers. Written by E.F. in the year 1627 and printed verbatim from the original. by Cary, Elizabeth, Lady, 1585 or 1586-1639.
Call Number: folio DA229 .C3234 1680

Publication Date: London: Printed by J.C. for Charles Harper..., Samuel Crouch..., and Thomas Fox..., 1680.

ZSR Special Collections materials: Charles I, 1625-1649/Civil War

A Compleat History of the Life and Raigne of King Charles from his Cradle to his Grave. by Sanderson, William, Sir, 1586?-1676.
Call Number: DA395 .S22 1658

Publication Date: London: Printed for Humphrey Moseley, Richard Tomlins, and George Sawbridge, 1658.
A Remonstrance of the State of the Kingdome. Agreed on by the Lords and Commons assembled in Parliament the 19 of May 1642 and published by order of both Houses by Elsynge, Henry, 1598-1654.
Call Number: DA412 1642 G74

Publication Date: London : Printed for F.C., 1642.
The humble Petition of the Lord Major, Aldermen, and Commons of the City of London in Common-Councell assembled. To the Right Honourable the Lords and Commons assembled in High Court of Parliament. With their Answer to the said Petition.
Call Number: DA412 1674 L65

Publication Date: London: Printed by Richard Cotes, 1647.

With contemporary markings in text.
Touching the Fundamentall Lawes, or Politique Constitution of this Kingdome, the Kings Negative Voice, and the Power of Parliaments.
Call Number: KD3989 .T8 1643

Publication Date: London: Printed for Thomas Underhill, 1643.
An Exact Collection of all Remonstrances, Declarations, Votes, Orders, Ordinances, Proclamations, Petitions, Messages, Answers, and other Remarkable Passages betweene the Kings most Excellent Majesty, and his High Court of Parliament ...
Call Number: DA412 1642 G5 1643

Publication Date: London: Printed for Edward Husbands, T. Warren, R. Best, 1643.
The Reign of King Charles: an history faithfully and impartially delivered and disposed into annals. by [L'Estrange, Hamon, |d 1605-1660.]
Call Number: DA395 .L67 1655

Publication Date: London: Printed by E.C. for Edward Dod and Henry Seile the younger, 1655.
Observations concerning the original and various forms of government, as described : |b viz. 1st Upon Aristotles politiques ; 2d Mr. Hobbs's Laviathan ; 3d Mr. Milton against Salmatius ; 4th Hugo Grotius, De jure bello ; 5th Mr. Hunton's Treatise of mona by Filmer, Robert, 1588?-1653.
Call Number: JC153 .F49 1696

Publication Date: London: Printed for R. R. C., 1696.
Patriarcha; or the Natural Power of Kings. by Filmer, Robert, |d 1588?-1653.
Call Number: JC153 .F49 1696

Publication Date: London: Printed for Ric. Chiswell..., Matthew Gillyflower and William Henchman..., 1680.
The unlawfulnesse of subjects taking up armes against their soveraigne, in what case soever. Together with an answer to all objections scattered in their severall bookes... by Diggs, Dudley, 1613-1643.
Call Number: DA396.A1 C65 1647
Eikōn basilikē, vel, Imago Regis Caroli in illis suis aerumnis & solitudine.
Call Number: DA400 .C4 1649

Publication Date: Hagae-Comitis [i.e. London] : Typis S.B. impensis J. Williams, & F. Eglesfield..,1649.
Eikōn basilikē : The pourtraicture of His Sacred Majestie in his solitudes and sufferings.
Call Number: DA400 .C4 1648

Publication Date: [London]: Reprinted in R.M., 1648.
The life and death of King Charles the First ... together with "Eikon Basilike". Representing His sacred Majesty in his solitudes and sufferings. And A vindication of the same King Charles the Martyr. Proving him to be the author of the said "Eikon Basili by Perrinchief, Richard, 1623?-1673.
Call Number: DA396 .A2 P47 1693

Publication Date: London: Printed for Joesph Hindmarsh, 1693.
Relations and Observations, Historicall and Politick, upon the Parliament, begun Anno Dom. 1640... by Walker, Clement, 1595-1651.
Call Number: DA410 .W17 1648

Publication Date: [London?], Printed in the Yeare 1648.
Anarchia Anglicana: or, The History of Independency, the second part : being a continuation of Relations and observations historicall and politique upon this present Parliament by Walker, Clement, 1595-1651.
Call Number: DA410 .W17 1648

Publication Date: [London?], Printed in the Yeare, MDCXLIX (1649)
The Moderate Intelligencer: impartially communicating Martiall Affairs to the Kingdom of England.
Call Number: DA411 .M63 1649

Publication Date: [London?], March 1649.

ZSR Special Collections materials: Oliver Cromwell/Interregnum 1649-1660

The High Court of Justice, or, Cromwels new Slaughter House in England. With the authority that constituted and ordained it arraigned, convicted, and condemned for usurpation, treason, tiranny, theft and murder... by Walker, Clement, 1595-1651.
Call Number: DA410 .W17 1648

Publication Date: Printed Anno Domini 1651. In the second Year of the States Liberty, and the Peoples Slavery.
Leviathan; or The Matter, Forme, & Power of a Common-wealth Ecclesiasticall and Civill. by Hobbes, Thomas, 1588-1679.
Call Number: JC153 .H6 1651

Publication Date: London: Printed for Andrew Crooke, 1651.
An Ordinance Appointing Commissioners for approbation of Publique Preachers. by [Cromwell, Oliver, 1599-1658.]
Call Number: DA420 .L3 1653

Publication Date: London: Printed by William du-Gard and Henry Hills, 1653.
An Ordinance for the ejecting of Scandalous, Ignorant and Insufficient Ministers and School-Masters. by [Cromwell, Oliver, 1599-1658.]
Call Number: DA420 .L3 1653

Publication Date: London: Printed by William du-Gard and Henry Hills, 1653.
An Ordinance for Further Doubling upon and Finishing the Sale of Deans, Deans & Chapters Lands, and of Mannors of Rectories, Gleab-lands, &c.
Call Number: DA420 . L3 1653

Publication Date: London: Printed by William du-Gard and Henry Hills, 1654.
An Ordinance for the better Maintenance and Encouragement of Preaching Ministers, and for uniting of Parishes.
Call Number: DA420 . L3 1653

Publication Date: London: Printed by William du-Gard and Henry Hills, 1654.

ZSR Special Collections materials: Charles II, 1660-1685

A True Narrative of the Horrid Plot and Conspiracy of the Popish Party against the Life of his Sacred Majesty, the Government, and the Protestant Religion. by Oates, Titus, 1649-1705
Publication Date: London: Printed for Thomas Parkhurst and Thomas Cockerill, 1679.
A True Narrative and Discovery of Several Very Remarkable Passages Relating to the Popish Plot: as they Fell with the Knowledge of Mr. Miles Prance of Covent-Garden, Goldsmith.
Publication Date: London: Printed for Dorman Newmant, 1679.
A Narrative of the Depositions of Robert Jenison, Esq; with other Material Evidences, plainly proving that Mr. William Ireland, Lately Executed for High Treason, was in London the Nineteenth of August, 1678. Notwithstanding his Confident Denial thereof... by Collected by Charles Chetwind Esq.
Publication Date: London: Printed for Henry Hills, Thomas Parkhurst, John Starkey, Dorman Newman, Thomas Cockeril, Thoams Simmons, and Jacob Tonson, 1679.
The Examination of Captain William Bedlow Deceased, Relating to the Popish Plot, Taken in his last Sickness, by Sir Franics North, Chief Justice of the Court of Common Pleas. by Perused and Signed to be Printed, According to the Order of the House of Commons, by me, William Willams, Speaker.
Publication Date: London: Printed by the Assigns of John Bill, Thomas Newcomb, and Henry Hills, 1680.
The Information of Stephen Dugdale, Gent. Delivered at the Bar of the House of Commons, Monday the First day of November, in the Year of our Lord 1680. by Perused and Signed to be Printed, according to the Order of the House of Commons, by me, William Williams.
Publication Date: London: Printed by the Assigns of John Bill, Thomas Newcomb, and Henry Hills, 1680.
The Information of Francisco deFaria, Delivered at the Bar of the House of Commons, Munday [sic.] the First day of November, in the year of our Lord, 1680. by Perused and Signed to be Printed, according to the Order of the House of Commons, by me, William Williams.
Publication Date: London: Printed by the Assigns of John Bill, Thomas Newcomb, and Henry Hills, 1680.
The Information of William Lewis, Gent. Deliviered at the Bar of the House of Commons, the Eighteenth of November, 1680. Together with his further Narrative relating thereto...
Publication Date: London: Printed for Randal Taylor, 1680.
The Narrative of Francisco deFaria, Interpreter and Secretary of Languages unto Gasper de Abrev De Freitas. Late Ambassador in Ordinary from the Crown of Portugal, to his Most Sacred Majesty of England...
Publication Date: London: Printed by John Gain, for Randal Taylor, 1680.
A Narrative of the Irish Popish Plot, for the betraying that Kingdom into the hands of the French, Massacring all English Protestants there, and utter Subversion of the Government and Protestant-Religion... by David Fitzgerald, Esq.
Publication Date: London: Printed for Tho. Cockerill, 1680.
The Further Information of Stephen Dugdale, Gent. Delivered at the Bar of the House of Commons. Pursuant to an Order of the said House, on the 30th of October, 1680.
Publication Date: London: Printed for Thomas Parkhurst... and Thomas Simmons, 1680.
The Information of John Macnamara, Gent. Touching the Popish Plot in Ireland, Carried on by the Conspiracies of the Earl of Tyrone...
Publication Date: London: Printed for Randolph Taylor, 1680.
The Information of Hubert Bourk, Gent. Touching the Popish Plot in Ireland, Carried on by the Conspiracies of the Earl of Tyrone...
Publication Date: London: Printed for Randolph Taylor, [1680]
The Papists Bloody Oath of Secrecy, and Letany of Intercession for the Carrying on of This Present Plot...Together with some further Informations, relating to the Plot, and Murther of Sir Edmundbury Godfrey.
Publication Date: London: Printed for Randal Taylor, 1680.
The Several Informations of John Mac-Namara, Murice Fitzgerrald, and James Nash: Relating to the Horrid Popish Plot in Ireland...
Publication Date: London: Printed for John Wright...and Richard Chiswell, 1680.
The Examination of Edw. Fitzharris, Relating to the Popish Plot, taken the Tenth day of March, 1681. Published in Print by Order fo the House of Commons, the Twenty fifth of March, 1681.
Publication Date: London: Printed for Thomas Fox, 1681.
The Informations of John Sergeant, and David Maurice, Gentlemen; Relating to the Popish Plot, (Deliver'd by them upon their respective Oaths) Reported to the House of Commons...
Publication Date: London : Printed for Gabriel Kunholt, 1681.
The Information of Robert Jennison of Grays-Inn, Gent. Delivered at the Bar of the House of Commons, Tuesday the Ninth day of November, in the Year of our Lord, 1680...
Publication Date: London: Printed by the Assigns of John Bill, Thomas Newcomb, and Henry Hills, 1680.
The Information of Thomas Dangerfield, Gent. Delivered at the Bar of the House of Commons, Tuesday the Twentieth day of October, In the Year of our Lord 1680...
Publication Date: London: Printed by the Assigns of John Bill, Thomas Newcomb, and Henry Hills, 1680.
A Collection of Letters and other Writings, Relating to the Horrid Popish Plott: Printed from the Originals in the Hands of George Treby Esq; Chairman of the Committee of Secrecy of the Honourable House of Commons.
Publication Date: London: Printed for Samuel Heyrick ..., Thomas Dring..., and John Wickins, 1681.
The Second Part of the Collection of Letters and other Writings, Relating to the Horrid Popish Plott: Printed from the Originals in the Hands of George Treby, Kt. (Recorder of the City of London) Chairman of the Committee of Secrecy ...
Publication Date: London: Printed for Samuel Heyrick ..., Thomas Dring..., and John Wickins, 1681.
Christian Liberty as it was Soberly Desired in a Letter to certain Forreign States, upon Occasion of their late Severity to several of their Inhabitants, meerly for their Different Perswasion and Practice in Point of Faith and Worship towards God. by [Penn, William, 1644-1718.]
Call Number: BX7614 .P4 C55 1675

Publication Date: [London?], printed in the year 1675
Liberty of conscience upon its true and proper grounds asserted & vindicated : proving, that no prince, nor state, ought by force to compel men to any part of the doctrine, worship, or discipline of the Gospel ; to which is added, the second part ... by [Wolseley, Charles, Sir, 1630?-1714.]
Call Number: BV741 .W86 1668

Publication Date: London, Printed in the year 1668.
The Observator [newspaper] by L'Estrange, Roger, Sir, 1616-1704.
Publication Date: [London], 1682-1683

Library holds 3 issues: January 24, 1682; December 20, 1682; January 9, 1683.
Memoirs relating to the impeachment of Thomas Earl of Danby, (now Duke of Leeds,) in the year, 1678. Wherein some affairs of those times are represented in a juster light than has hitherto appear'd. With an appendix, containing the proceedings in Parliame by Leeds, Thomas Osborne, Duke of, 1631-1712.
Call Number: DA445 .L42 1711

Publication Date: London: Printed for A. Bettesworth..., E. Curll..., and R. Gosling..., 1711
Anno Regni Caroli II. Regis Angliae, Scotiae, Franciae & Hiberniae, Vicesimo Nono.
Call Number: folio DA 428.3 .G74 A53 1678

Publication Date: London: Printed by the Assigns of John Bill and Christopher Barker, Printers to the Kings most Excellent Majesty, 1677.

ZSR Special Collections materials: James II, 1685-1688

Copies of two papers written by the late King Charles II. Together with a copy of a paper written by the late Dutchess of York. Published by His Majesties command.
Call Number: folio DA432 .C5 1686

Publication Date: London: Printed by Henry Hills, Printer to the King's most Excellent Majesty, 1686.

ZSR Special Collections materials: William and Mary, 1689-1702

An abstract of the grievances of trade which oppress our poor. Humbly offered to the Parliament. by Blanch, John, 1649 or 1650-
Call Number: HF3505 .A55 1694

Publication Date: London, Printed in the Year 1694.
Discourses on the Publick Revenues, and on the Trade of England by Davenant, Charles, 1656-1714.
Call Number: HJ1012 .D23

Publication Date: London: Printed for James Knapton, 1698.
The Present State of Europe, or, The Historical and Political Monthly Mercury, Giving an Account of all the Publick and Private Occurences, Civil, Exxlesiastical and Military, that are most Considerable in every Court...
Call Number: D2 .P7

Publication Date: London: Printed for Henry Rhodes..., and John Harris..., 1692.

Monthly periodical; ZSR has 2 issues (March 1692, May 1692)
The case of allegiance in our present circumstances consider'd. In a letter from a minister in the city, to a minister in the country. by [Masters, Samuel, 1646-1693.]
Call Number: DA452 .M3

Publication Date: London: Printed for Ric. Chiswell, 1689.

ZSR Special Collections materials: Anne, 1702-1714

The Tryal of Dr. Henry Sacheverell, before the House of Peers, for High Crimes and Misdemeanors; upon an Impeachment by the Knights, Citizens, and Burgesses in Parliament Assembled...
Call Number: folio KD372 .S2 1710

Publication Date: London: Printed for Jacob Tonson, 1710.
The English Theophrastus : or, The manners of the age. Being the modern characters of the court, the town, and the city. by Boyer, Abel, 1667-1729.
Call Number: BJ1561 .B69 E5 1708

Publication Date: London : W. Turner and J. Chantry, 1708.
A Collection of all the addresses that have been presented to Her Majesty, since March the 25th, 1710.
Call Number: KD372 .S2 1710

Publication Date: [London : John Morphew, 1711]
A seasonable warning; or The Pope and the King of France unmasked. by Defoe, Daniel, 1661?-1731.
Call Number: PR3404 .S42 1706

Publication Date: [Edinbugh?] : [publisher not identified], Printed in the year 1706.