1.       All researchers must complete a registration card with their name, address, telephone number, and research topic prior to materials being requested.  An out slip for each collection or item should be submitted.

2.       Food and beverages are not permitted. Outer clothing, attache cases, backpacks, umbrellas and other similar items are to be left with the desk attendant.

3.       All researchers must use pencil to take notes.  Ink pens, fountain pens, felt-tip pens, bottles of ink or similar writing materials cannot be used.

4.       Marking documents, or placing cards/papers or post-its on documents is prohibited.

5.       Materials must be handled with care; they must not be marked, torn, cut, folded, soiled, traced over, nor notes be written on top of the material, nor handled in any manner which might cause damage.

6.       Material may not be removed from the reading area.

7.       Only one box or folder may be consulted at a time.

8.       Researchers are asked to handle papers carefully, maintaining their established order in the folders, and notifying a staff member if they are out of order. Please also notify staff of any damaged items.

9.       Researchers are asked to handle rare books with care, and use book supports when needed, to provide support for the bindings.

10.   Material may be reproduced in accordance with the policies and procedures of the Special Collections Department. Scanning, photocopying, or other reproduction of materials will be done by Special Collections staff. Researchers will need to fill out a Scan Request form, available at the Special Collections reference desk.

11.   Researchers must fill out and sign a permission to publish form to quote or use images from Special Collections & Archives collections.

12.   Researchers may request permission from the professional staff to use digital cameras to take images, and if permission is granted, must also fill out and sign a permission to publish form. Scanners are not permitted due to copyright issues and fragility of Special Collections materials.

13.   The use of certain manuscripts or other materials may be restricted by statute, by office of origin, or by the donors. The researcher must assume full responsibility for fulfilling the terms connected with any restricted material. For the protection of its collections the Library also reserves the right to restrict the use of materials which are not processed or in the process of being arranged, materials of exceptional value and fragile materials.