Skip to main content

CNS 748: Lifespan Development (Online): Stuck?

Course readings for CNS 748: Lifespan Development (Online)

Getting the Full Text

If it's been awhile since you've done in-depth library research, you'll soon realize that most of the sources you'll need are entirely online. However, just because they're online doesn't mean they're always easily accessible. Sometimes the full text PDF of an article isn't where you expect it to be, or in some cases, only the print edition is available. Never fear! Here are a few methods for tracking down and getting access to the full text of the sources you find online and in our databases.

Step-by-Step Instructions for Finding Full Text of an Article

Let's say you come across a citation that looks like this, and you want the full text:

Humor in Counseling: Leader Perspectives, by Eugene Goldin, Terry Bordan, Daniel L.Araoz, Samuel T. Gladding, David Kaplan, John Krumboltz, and Arnold Lazarus, Journal of Counseling and Development, 2006, Volume 84, pages 397 - 404

  1. The very first step you would want to take is to identify the title of the article. In this case, you can tell it's "Humor in Counseling: Leader Perspectives."
  2. The next step you would take is to enter the full title in the main search box on the library homepage. Use quotation marks around the title to show it's a complete phrase!
  3. The article should be in the first few results! Don't be tricked: sometimes there are other articles about the one you're looking for that will show up first!
  4. Click on the title and you'll find a page that looks something like this:

Note that there is a link for "Full Text." You will want to click that to access the actual article you are looking for.

Back-Up Solution!

Let's say that didn't work. The next step you'll want to take is to identify the different parts of the citation:

Humor in Counseling: Leader Perspectives, by Eugene Goldin, Terry Bordan, Daniel L.Araoz, Samuel T. Gladding, David Kaplan, John Krumboltz, and Arnold Lazarus, Journal of Counseling and Development, 2006, Volume 84, pages 397 - 404


Article Title: Humor in Counseling: Leader Perspectives

Authors: Eugene Goldin, Terry Bordan, Daniel L.Araoz, Samuel T. Gladding, David Kaplan, John Krumboltz, and Arnold Lazarus

Journal: Journal of Counseling and Development

Date: 2006

Volume/Issue: Volume 84

Pages: 397-404

  1. Now, the first thing you do is go to the ZSR homepage and click "Find" then "Journals" at the top of the page.
  2. Search for Journal of Counseling and Development
  3. Under your results you will note that there is a list of links, the first of which says "from 09/01/1984 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier" Follow that link!
  4. Click the "+2006" in the right sidebar to see all the issues from that year and select the Fall issue. I'd recommend starting there because the late 300s/early 400s page numbers would probably be later in the year.
  5. Scroll down until you see the article.
  6. Click the Full Text link!

Obtaining Materials from ZSR and Other Libraries

Setting up your Interlibrary Loan account

As a student in an online program, you have the ability to have materials from ZSR and from other libraries around the country shipped directly to your front door or sent right to your email inbox. To do this, you'll need to create an account in our Interlibrary Loan system. When you create your free account, be sure to indicate "ONLINE GRAD" as your status and provide your home address if you want items delivered to your home.

Once your account is set up, you can then fill out a request for the item you wish to obtain. Be sure to include as much information about your desired materials as possible. This will speed up the fulfillment process.

How long does it take to receive items?

The Interlibrary Loan staff will make every attempt to process your request within 48 hours, but the turnaround time for the delivery of requested materials depends on several factors: the work load at the lending library, availability of the requested material, and the U.S. Postal Service. Articles are usually delivered electronically, normally within 3-7 days, but this is not guaranteed. Most books are shipped “library rate” 4th class mail. Therefore, your book may take two to four weeks to arrive at ZSR Library for processing, and an additional two days to be shipped from ZSR to your home.

Our advice

Obviously, the ILL process takes a bit longer than, say, ordering a book from Amazon. When you're conducting research, we advise you to start early and plan ahead if you anticipate needing to request items through ILL. 

More information

Need help? Chat with us