Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism: Newspapers

Sources

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
When completed, this searchable collection will include 270 newspapers from 36 states, offering insights into African-American history, culture, and daily life. New content is added monthly; scheduled for completion in Fall 2010.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Contains the complete text of more than 250,000 articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 150 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S.

LexisNexis Academic
Contains full text access to a wide range of news, country profiles, business and company information, legal research databases, and some general medical/health and reference sources.

Newspaper Source Plus
Full text for many major U.S. and international newspapers, including the Winston Salem Journal.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Includes hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Contains three newspapers back to their first issues: New York Times (1851-three years ago), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), and Wall Street Journal (1889-1989). More recent issues are available through other databases, such as ProQuest. Includes advertisements, illustrations, etc. as they were laid out on the original page.

Regional Business News
Contains abstracts for 60 regional business publications and full text for 52 of them.

The Charlotte Observer
search for articles about the Yadkin River or Alcoa dam

Subject Guide

Alice Eng's picture
Alice Eng
Contact:
336-758-5484
Need help? Chat with us