It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Public Policy Research: Lobbying
This guide is for students researching current issues, hot topics or public policies.
The direct influence between lobbying and policy is often difficult to prove - but a good deal of evidence is available in what the lobbying groups reveal about their activities and in how the legislation gets crafted. It is important to look at both sides of the process, starting with the lobbying group or organization. You can check their web sites for statements about the policies they are working on - The American Library Associations Legislation Page for example. Then you can check the hearings and legislation versions in Proquest Congressional for changes recommended by the lobbying groups, etc.
For information on where lobbying money goes - try these resources:
Provides indexing and full text of federal bills, laws, and regulations as well as information on Congress, voting records, legislative histories from 1789 to the present, and current legislative activities. Also contains the full text of the U.S. Serial Set and American State Papers from 1789-2003. Also includes indexing and full text of published and unpublished Congressional Hearings from 1829 to present. Includes the Congressional Record from 1873-present and its predecessor publications from 1789-1873. Coverage: 1789-present
This link cross searches ProQuest Political Science Database, PAIS Index, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Users can access hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals with full-text of many core titles. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. Coverage: 1985-
Contains citations to, and selected abstracts of, the field of economics from international journal articles, dissertations, and books, books chapters and articles and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1969-