It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociology Resources: Research Databases
This research guide is intended to help students in a broad range of Sociology courses and other courses in the Social Sciences. Please use the tabs at the top of the page to find help with the particular area of sociological research you need. If you run
To find subject-specific, scholarly articles in journals and magazines on the library website, zsr.wfu.edu, go to Find a Database screen, and under the heading "Find by Subject" on the left, look for "Sociology" and follow the link, or use the list provided below.
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Coverage: 1987-
Provides comprehensive coverage for the field of psychology. Contains abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, journals, dissertations, and other sources. Links to full text in PsycARTICLES. Coverage: 1806-
PubMed provides access to MEDLINE, a database of citations covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services within PubMed include the Journal Browser, MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) Browser, Citation Matcher, and Clinical Queries. A user-friendly online tutorial is available at the site. PubMed also provides access to molecular biology databases in the National Center for Biotechnology Information s (NCBI) Entrez retrieval system with components for searching DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes. Coverage: 1946-
Contains the complete text of more than 250,000 articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 150 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S. Coverage: 1995-
"Social Sciences Citation Index indexes over 1,700 journals in the social sciences including anthropology, communications, history, law, management, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's studies. It provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Social Sciences Citation Index is most useful for searching for articles that cite a known author or work. Citation searching also allows a researcher to use a given work as a subject term in order to identify more recent articles about the same topic." Coverage: 1956-
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. Coverage: 1985-
These general databases listed below cover a wide variety of topics and may also prove useful for sociological and social science research.
Searches across all ProQuest article databases. Contains articles covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Databases include Research Library, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Religion. Coverage: 1970-
Contains three ISI Citation Databases (Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index), plus Biological Abstracts, Emerging Sources Citation Index, MEDLINE (PubMed), and the SciELO Citation Index, which together index over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals. Provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Useful for searching databases for articles that cite a known author or work. Citation searching also allows a researcher to use a given work as a subject term in order to identify more recent articles about the same topic. Coverage: 1945-
A full-text database of archived issues of academic journals. Since JSTOR is a backfiles project, a typical coverage range is the beginning of a journal until three or five years ago. Supported in part by the Dail Endowment Fund. Coverage: Varies